Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Comic!

in #drawing7 years ago

It seems like the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles have always been in my life.


TurtleTraining_P01_PencilsCropped.jpg
TurtleTrainingPencils_Page02_Cropped.jpg
TurtleTrainingPg3_Pencils_Cropped.jpg

TMNT has been a huge influence on my life. I’ve read the comics, watched numerous animated shows, played all the games (even the bad ones), watched all the movies (even the bad ones), and consumed about all there is to consume.

When I first started drawing comics seriously, I began to visualize the things I wanted the turtles to do on the page. And its a LONG list. Some of them I’ve sketched out and the one you just saw is the product of my favorite sketches. I call this sequence Turtle Training.

Here are some work in progress shots never before posted to give you some extra insight.
IMG_1456.JPG
IMG_1473.JPG
IMG_2115.JPG


Interested in penciling comics? Watch my series, Comic Penciling on youtube!

Thanks for reading.


Website
Instagram
Youtube Tutorials
Twitter

Sort:  

I just saw the Turtles movie. It was okay. But, I still like the old school comics from back in the day better. Does any one remember the Terror Bears?

I am loving your take on the turtles, you should see if IDW is taking submissions.

whats IDW ?

Fifth largest comic book publishing company according to Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IDW_Publishing

I did not know this, I was just looking to see what IDW actually stood for to comment with that, which is Idea and Design Works. I'm now happily taken back the company is doing so well. I guess it is Marvel, DC, and Image before them, I wonder what is fourth is.

oh cool ! cheers for the info ! yes i wonder who 4th is too ! and i agree , this penciling is totally worth a shot at IDW if they are taking submissions ! In that league at leassstt for sure ! Strong anatomy , composition , sense of motion/action and lovely clean penciling skills. Would love to work on inking/coloring it hehe , i wish !!

I'd like to see the TMNT fighting terrorists on a plane or maybe soem kind of a political thing. Try new things that nobody else is doing.

I love that you draw traditionally... great work in process. Do you work for comics or Illustration?
I have to follow you!
Greetings from germany

Hey thanks a lot. I am most comfortable drawing traditionally. Everything feels just right. I am primarily a comics guy. I have couple of personal comics that are in semi early development and I am constantly making new portfolio pieces to get more recognition from editors out there.

Upvoted & resteemed.

Much appreciated.

Nice drawings!!! I'm going to start doing the same but i'm going to do it on a tablet not paper.

Thank you. I draw on a cintiq as well, but I enjoy traditional pencils better.

upvoted and resteemed. Damn clean work. I am a digital artist myself and this post inspires me to do more traditional work on actual paper. this post definitely deserves more value in my opinion. following you now ! all the best.

Thank you very much! I feel the drawing much more on paper. I really appreciate you spreading the post around. Keep drawing my friend.

Congratulations @catapanoart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is amazing stuff man! Keep up the good work!

Thanks a whole lot!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64