Anato-Monday Week #3 - 8 Minute Drawing Challenge!

in #drawing7 years ago

IMG_0276.JPG

I am super busy with the regular comic work on my plate so I am just going to post about this cool exercise I pulled from awesome artist Jake Parker. If you are not aware of Parker, he is a children's book illustrator, comic book artist, educator, and general badass in the creative visual field.


This exercise is called the 8 Minute Drawing Challenge.

Here's the Idea:

In order to train your mind and hand to simplify an object and learn to only draw the most important lines you need to practice. This exercise is designed to force you to do just that.

Instructions:

  1. Grab a sheet of paper and pen
  2. Orient the paper horizontally. Divide the paper into 6 equal squares by drawing two vertical lines splitting up the page into thirds. Then draw a horizontal line in the middle of the page going long ways. You should have 6 boxes, it doesn't have to be perfect, unless you're into that sort of thing.
  3. Pick a complex object to draw. (I picked a nose)
  4. You will now draw this object 6 times in a row. Heres the catch.... Each time you draw the object you will have less and less time to finish the drawing.
  5. The times are as follows: 4 minutes, then 2 minutes, then 1 minute, then 30 seconds, then 15 seconds, then 5 seconds.

Thats it! Use this link to do the exercise with a special timer that Jake himself made.

I hope you enjoy this drawing exercise. Do it multiple times to get better and better at finding the right lines for each object.

Thank you everyone for all the support and feedback on all my posts. Its been great.
As always you can find me all across the web through the links at the bottom and I'll see ya next Monday for more studies!


Website
Instagram
Youtube Tutorials
Twitter

Sort:  

I love Jake Parker, thanks for sharing this exercise!

Yea, I am a huge fan too.

great idea. thanks for sharing! might get on to it myself :)

No problem. Its really pretty fun to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43