How to Draw Original Sci-fi Robots or Spaceships

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

My Problem
Like many people, after doodling for enough years, my original drawings started to look pretty similar. Everytime I picked up a pencil and tried to "a robot", it would end up looking like my previous one, or like something out of a game I just played or movie I just watched. That's when I started using a different technique in order to force myself to come up with original designs.

My Solution
What I ended up doing is based on an old video I came across years ago where the idea was to "forget" your usual style and start by drawing random lines on sheets of paper. After drawing enough of them, you'll have ended up with tons of random designs, some of which may sort of look like something if you squint a little.

So I now start with random lines or just the location of basic things like where I want joints for arms or legs, but then I use the existing lines to create original shapes. By incorporating those into my designs, it forces me to use new shapes and improvise, which leads to unique designs.

Timelapse Video

Please follow along to learn how to draw original robots, spaceships and other sci-fi designs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33