"Drawing" The Beatles "with black pen and a touch of watercolors in sepia tone"

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Hello Community "STEEMIT". In this opportunity I have the immense pleasure of sharing with all of you, my great experience, that you experience when tracing me one of the most beautiful challenges that I have given to perform in my task as a painter, in the wonderful technique of the ballpoint pen, which is innovating at the world, the way of seeing visual art from an experimental point of view.
I hope you enjoy as much as it was for me, this great experience that I had when capturing in the technique a black ballpoint pen and a touch of watercolor in sepia tones, to the great musical group of all time "THE BEATLES".


Source: https://www.enfemenino.com/tendencias/musica-retro-los-grupos-que-sonaban-d39436c484220.html!

It was a rainy and cold afternoon in that distant winter, my mother took my hand and hurrying to cross the avenue in the opposite direction, we proceeded to embark in the back of a taxi, waiting for us, and within the same , there was only a dull sound, through the window I could see the cloudy landscape of that small storm, only the sound of the windshield wiper was heard, when suddenly the driver turned on the radio and with circular movements of his fingers, he started to tuning to a radio station, you could hear, the hiss on the cornets until I managed to make contact with a station and was clearly heard that musical melody of sad guitars and pianos, I was 9 years old, was a very curious child, like all children at last, discovering everything, every day

I looked at the drops of water, down in the glass, from that taxi, while I continued to listen to that mysterious song and that peculiar, tenuous and melodic voice, that song began to absorb me like an endless whirlpool, which proceeds to swallow something and the outcome is inevitable, my astonishment was absolute, I felt desperation when I heard that vortex, until I reached the melodic total climax and it dissolved suddenly, that song then became a beautiful melody and that voice was like that of a ghost in the distance, what I experienced when listening, broke something inside me, and I wanted to know who or who were the interpreters of that melody, after a moment, reach to see in the front console of the vehicle a small colored box yellowish, already old, but legible that said in worn letters, the phrase "THE BEATLES" and said in its lower part "One day in the life" which in Spanish means "U n day in life, "I could memorize the phrases well and then began to spend the days looking for those such" THE BEATLES "in the record stores, finding many albums of this musical group, but in my mind I was looking for that song, I had to listen again, it was like a need to feel that unique experience, and after a few minutes of digging here and there, appeared in front of me, that colorful album with many flowers, many faces and characters, was called "Sgt peppe 'r lonely hearts club band'.


Source: http://universal881.com/blogs/los-8-datos-del-sargento-pimienta.html
My hands slowly took that virgin case with great delicacy and I hypnotized by so much beauty, I was suddenly interrupted by the voice of a very nice girl who told me "boy you like that album? And making a picaresque grimace on his face exclaimed "is the pepper sergeant" of the Beatles, and smiled very sweetly, and I without thinking I followed and so I bought my first album, my emotion was such that I decided to walk very slowly Preparing myself mentally to listen to him, all the steps to follow to place that acetate disc and look for the exact channel where that song was, and that was the way he listened to it again and again and thus in this way, the interest that until now grew in me It overwhelms me, for the music and the visual arts.
I knew a little while ago that JONH LENNON was the one who sang it, and that was my story of how I got to know such an illustrious musician and composer, extraordinary as was Jonh Lennon.

Drawing process (Jonh Lennon.)

Making the sketch of John, I was forming that face, little by little with soft shades, since the ink of the black pen is a bit strong and you have to be constantly cleaning its rounded tip with a napkin or soft cloth, so that it does not accumulate ink granules that can be fatal in this technique, since you can not erase those spots and the work would lose quality, the secret of this technique is in the patience to do things very calmly, then take the pen after having cleaned it as explain above and try it with some strokes in a discharge paper and continue.

Listening to those songs of the pepper sergeant while continuing to capture that image of Jonh, I came to invade me, feelings of nostalgia and sadness to think how much I had to give as a musician this nice character, in the years to come, if it had not been for that tragedy of the year 1980 where a mentally disturbed fanatic, shoots him with his weapon, blinding the life of that musical star.

JONH LENNON "The Beatles genius that started everything.

After a short time of that experience, in the taxi, and my friendship, I had grown up quickly with the nice girl who worked in the music store, and one day I was watching albums came up to me and whispered in my ear and with very deaf words, exclaimed "you know, my friend, you should see the animated movie" YELLOW SUBMARINE "Yellow Submarine, and he continued telling me" tell your parents to look for it in the video store, you will surely like it a lot ", I I looked with emotion and I gave him a hug and I went at great speed to my house, while, I ran through the streets with the rhythm of a jumping horse, I repeated in my mind those phrases, "Yellow submarine"
I told my mother to look for that movie in the video store since being a child I did not have access to rent the cassette videos of that time, imagine? I'm talking about the antiquated betamax format, a classic.
After a few days, a sunny afternoon, my mother gave me that big surprise, she brought the film in her hands and I ran to the "Betamax" video player and with a big smile on my face I placed it and I arranged to contemplate it.

That animated film was fantastic, with very colorful characters and that yellow submarine that traveled through that universe of fantasies with four musicians inside "The Beatles", the story caught me immediately and their songs were great.
Now I remember and I say to myself "It was great to enjoy that animated film at that age, at 9 years old, a child's imagination is infinite" still sometimes in my dreams I travel through that universe of colors of the yellow submarine.
The theme of the movie was great. the song was played by RINGO STARR who was the drummer of the musical group, they will not believe it, but nowadays, when I walk in solitary places, I still sing that song that gives me joy and makes me feel good.

source:
http://woodstockwhisperer.info/2016/01/13/beatles-yellow-submarine-album/
Live forever "YELLOW SUBMARINE"

Drawing process (Ringo Starr.)

Realizing the sketch of Ringo Starr, I focused on his look, those drooping eyes, they were my main focus and thus using strokes with the ballpoint pen of very small and soft lines, the character was presented before me.

RINGO STARR "The Joyful Beatles"

As time went on I began to get interested in the other songs of this extraordinary musical band, and it was when I obtained, through my great friend from the music record store, a good offer from another The Beatles album, it was the masterful "ABBEY ROAD" "And so it was that I fell in love with the song" Something "which means" something. "

Source: https://starbaseatlanta.com/product/the-beatles-abbey-road-album-500-piece-lenticular-3d-jigsaw-puzzle-new-sealed/

This time I played GEORGE HARRISON, the more I researched about this musical group, I could see that this character of George Harrison, was very different from the other three, I quickly understood that it was a Beatles crooked, reserved, a little shy, while the others were more extroverted.
The songs of Harrison captivated me quickly, since their melodies are magical, full of beautiful harmonies, with that mysterious and psychedelic touch, George Harrison gave the ideal complement to that musical quartet, brilliantly in each performance.
I tell you a secret friends, my first kiss to a girl, I gave it to you listening to the song Something, I hope you keep the secret.

Drawing process (George Harrison.)

When making the sketch of George and at the same time listening to his songs, I experienced a lot of spirituality and tranquility with his melodies, my pen slipped on its own, forming very faint shadows and with very delicate strokes so that character took shape, layer by layer of ink I was capturing his youth and his personality, I felt a lot of joy when I drew it with my black pen, it was pleasant to look at it from many perspectives.

GEORGE HARRISON. The introverted Beatles.

One day I met a friend, turned out to be very similar to me, as concerns the musical concerns and in this case we were fans of The Beatles, we spent hours and hours talking about what everyone knew about that musical group, we laughed We tried to play their songs on their old guitar, with chords out of tune, but to our ears they were great, I remember that he sang a song and I waited impatiently for my turn, to play and sing. So we spent all day in that park in the shade of those acacia trees.
This friend suggested me to exchange music albums, he wanted the Abbe Road, and I wanted the album "Let it Be", and that's how we exchanged albums, when listening quietly in my room, that's when I was surprised to know that voice and the masterful interpretation in that old and deaf piano, was the famous PAUL McCARTNEY, this character was very refined and with that touch of English aristocracy, his songs were extraordinarily supreme, his musicality was perfect, his arrangements impressive, he was a perfect musician in the vocal performance and musical performance, Paul was the perfect ingredient for this musical cocktail and so I was in love with the song Let it be, extracted from the same name as the album, Let It Be, which was released to the public in 1970, specifically culminating the decade of the "60" years. And in that same year, this extraordinary band, came to an end as a group, making successful careers in the field of music each by their side, taking opportunities to collaborate with each other.

Source: https://www.sopitas.com/477063-45-anos-de-let-it-be-el-album-que-separo-a-the-beatles/

Finishing this way for being the last musical production where the four members of the band interacted, THE BEATLES.
I still usually meet that friend and continue doing the same as in our childhood, from time to time I visit him and we sit comfortably with our cups of coffee, on the balcony of his house, to play and sing the same songs that we sang from children and forgive my humble modesty, but my friend is still out of tune, of course is not leave us and even the last time I visited him I said "My friend, we have 35 years doing the same with that old guitar, which you still have, and He looked at me smiling, and answered me in this way, "are you right Corvo friend, and you know something? I'm not bored of doing it, and as far as I'm concerned, I'll never get bored, "and laughed in unison, with certain claps,

Drawing process (Paul McCartney.)

In capturing this character of PAUL McCARNEY, I focused on that glamorous style that this gentleman showed, in his most influential features, with that dormant and refined look and so, using very small rayite fillings with my pen, I gave him the required appearance.

Having the four members of the group THE BEATLES already captured with my black pens, I wanted to give a touch of watercolors in sepia tone to give my drawing an old atmosphere, highlighting with nuances certain places with more intensity than in others, and being satisfied with the effect that the watercolor gave, I tell friends. "The pen goes very well with watercolors, but remember to use surfaces that support paint materials that use water, in this case watercolors, since there are cardboard of different thicknesses and many of them do not support the paints that are mixed with water, on my surface use a white semi - thick cardboard.

A touch-up in watercolor sepia tones.

A picture drawing late at night ...

Content for the objectives achieved.

Final score.

Your server Betzael Corvo is bid farewell and I hope you are enjoying my experience "Drawing THE BEATLES to a black pen and a touch of watercolors in cuttlefish tones" as much as I enjoy it, strolling through each of these wonderful characters and the situations that happen during and then to get to translate them into a work. Wishing everyone in the "STEEMIT" community many successes and thanking them for the opportunity they give me to bring them this humble job that I have done with many wishes to integrate more and more with artists that can help me to get more and in this way to improve myself professionally in this area as beautiful as painting is.

Sort:  

Amazing job and really substantial description, @betzaelcorvo! I especially like the combination of a black pen with sepia watercolor effect. Looks like it took a lot of time, huh?

Hello Friend. If I take a few days of work exactly 5 days, dedicating 5 hours a day or so, if the watercolor is linked with the pen, I made this blog with a lot of effort, I liked the idea of drawing athe beatles but has not had the strength of publication I expected. If you can help me, I'd really appreciate it. I liked the contest you did, and your drawings are very good you have a very original style, I like it. regards

Thank you, mate! You never know if your post gets a lot of rewards or not, and it is always a bit disappointing that the effort has not been acknowledged. Same thing with me. But we all need to understand that we cannot become famous and popular suddenly, we struggle everyday and we contribute to our success with every single action in the long run. You are a really multi talented person, so don’t give up! Do your best and some day you will inevitably become a famous and honored Steemian. I am sure!

thank you friend, for your support, we will continue together in this ship and on this trip, greetings and success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51