How to BOOST Your Creativity with "Mindless" Speed Sketching - Markers and pen

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Hey! Ever felt stuck creatively? You might want to check out my video below on how to get "unstuck". I think we often put to much thought into what we are going to sketch. Or another example - too much thought into what we are going to write, if you're a writer.

The hardest part is always starting. The first 5% of a task seem to require 90% of the effort, am I right?

The idea with speed sketching as I show in the video below, is to give your brain a break. I don't want you to think, just move the pen around on the paper.

Get some lines down. Add some curves. Maybe an ellipse or a circle. Change the sizes and radiuses of the shapes and lines your sketching. But don't overthink it.

Your hand should be ahead of your mind. What do I mean by that? It means that your hand is moving before you have the chance to think about what you are sketching.

Once you've filled up the paper with these shapes, try and see if you can connect them somehow.

Add lines between to points or edges of two ellipses for example. What do you see?

Try this out and let me know what you think. Would love to see what your blank sheet of paper turns out to be!

Thanks for watching :)

Sort:  

This was fun to watch despite not having audio, I'll come back and listen to the video with audio later. I almost went to college to study automotive design in Pasadena, watching this video takes me back to the days when I loved to draw :)

Thank you for sharing, definitely following to see more of your work, cheers!

I assume you're talking about Art Center in Pasadena, they do have a great auto design program! Thank you for watching and for the follow, followed you back:)

Very, VERY cool tutorial! I've always been very jealous of those that can create awesome art like this and am very appreciative of the great tutorial. I'm sure others around here are as well!

Hey thank you very much! I appreciate your comment.

Thanks. I actually really needed to see this right now. I almost want to sketch but it's 1am. But this isn't gonna help me I think. I do already have a few strategies for getting things moving but you gave it a new edge for me. :)

Thanks for your comment @aeryn I'm glad to hear that! Maybe give it a shot tomorrow.

Interesting approach. I appreciate the way you use strong defined marks. I think I might practice that a bit to increase my drawing range.

Go for it @siloe ! Let me know how it goes :)

I alway had more of a scratchy mark, so this should be interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.93
ETH 3104.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12