You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I have a lot of time on my own - so I have a lot of hobbies

in #drawing7 years ago

I know how you feel at times, although large crowds give some anonymity so I actually kinda like them, but I get it more in medium sized groups. Mostly because I dont want to talk to people. Strange huh?

I pass my time playing computer games and making music or practicing piano or guitar.

Sort:  

cool, I quit computer games long ago, although my hands still itches sometimes haha, I practice both piano and guitar growing up too, but no access to both now. I always think music is my life, but I can't make any music at all. I hum and sometimes play randomly but never really bothered to write it down, not my thing maybe haha.

Why did you quit the games? Get too absorbed? I certainly do :)

You could probably find a cheap guitar or cheap usb keyboard somewhere. If you are looking for a long term, rewarding and fulfilling hobby, you couldnt do much better than 30 mins of piano or guitar a day. I taught myself, just got a chord book and leaned the basic chords. I cant say Im very good but I enjoy it lots :) been playing for many years now so am very comfortable playing what I make and like and thats all that matters to me.

cool... my current job requires that i travel often, so can't be carrying a guitar along. But i do have a harmonica to keep me company, and recently i learned some blues and how to bend some notes

Harmonica! Nice :) I wish I could play harmonica but wind instruments are something I can never quite get the hang of. Im glad you managed to take something musical with you. I think creativity is important for every person on earth.

it is! and i'm glad the Internet brings us all together haha :) imagine back in the stone age haha~

I suspect we wouldnt be so anxious in our stone age alter-egos, not in the same way, no time to feel anxious when your tribe has to follow the herds and watch out for predators and rivals :)

Do you ever get the urge to go back and continue working on those wooden sculptures and models? They are really good!

Maybe, I get excited when I see a nice piece of wood haha, but don't have the right tools. My boss has a workshop but he prefers steel work, so maybe I'm thinking to try some steel work haha

Why not, Id say go for it, you seem a highly creative person and you may come across that "thing" that you could do endlessly. For me, games and starting new songs, for others, math and problem solving.

Iv actually been watching alot of math videos on youtube recently and have gained an appreciation and understanding of things like algebra etc, which I never really clicked with in school. Ill never be a mathematician or physicist but it doesnt stop me reading about quantum mechanics, Pi=4, Golden Ratios, Fractals etc etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56