THE BROKEN SHACKLES

in #drama7 years ago

ACT 1 SCENE 1

At night. Abike and Femi are seen in Ajayi's room. Both are sitting on the bed

image

ABIKE: My son, why I called you this time of the night is to tell you that I am not okay with the lady you brought from the city as wife. You should have looked for a wife from our village, not an Igbo woman that will kill you and pack your property and go away.

FEMI: Mama, a man deserves the right to take a wife anywhere he feels like, provided he gets his heart desire.
Ngozi and I have been living together for the past four years. And she is a woman I know that any man can be proud of. Even when I have nothing, she understands that there is nothing, and if she has, provides. So, tell me, Mam, why I shall leave such a woman.

ABIKE: My problem is that, she is an Igbo woman, and Igbo women are very very terrible. They can kill you and pack all your property and run away without the knowledge of any of bus here in the village. And you are my only child.

FEMI: Mama, do not generalised. Not all Igbo women are bad. Besides Ngozi is notbbad. She is a woman of my dream. As woman you can be proud of. There is an adage that says: "the devil that you know is better than the angel you don't know."

ABIKE: So?

FEMI: She is my missing rib mama. Therefore tribe has nothing to do with our marriage.

ABIKE: WHAT? Over my dead body! That woman can not be my daughter in-law. I know that she has bewitched you....Femi.

FEMI: Mama, you should try to understand me.

ABIKE: (cuts in) Understand what? An Igbo woman can not stay in stay in this house. There are other beautiful girls, well educated and well mannered in this village than your Ngozi. Go, and tell her your people said no to presence here.

FEMI: Your shout is waking people from their sleep mama.

ABIKE: I want the whole village to come and witness this, let them wake up!

FEMI: Witness what?

ABIKE: That I rejected Ngozi as my daughter in-law

FEMI: Ehhhhhhh

ABIKE: YES!.

Light fades
TO BE CONTINUED

Thanks for reading. Please follow me for **ACT 1 SCENE 2.

image

Sort:  

This story looks really interesting. I will definitely keep tabs for more of this.

You just keep me in a suspense. Never write the scene without letting me know I want to follow this to the end. Thanks for this

Stay tuned for act 1 sence 2
Same here tomorrow.
Tnx for stopping by.

You get a resteem from getupvote.
Follow me @getupvote and get a upvote and resteem thank u

Thanks for using my service i upvote you ( before sanding SBD must check my profile detail )

Hahahaha drama

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38