Altais the Dragon Lord. 3d Zbrush sculpture complete!

in #dragons6 years ago (edited)

Dragon Lord Altais (The Goat), fifth among the Taurellian Highlords.
He Who Has the Sandwich He Wants Without Argument, Caller of First Dibs, Keeper of the TV Remote, Chooser of Channels,
Unquestionable Master of the Spit-roast, Wealth Redistribution Receiver, Confiscator of Goodies, Appreciator of Excess Gains, Sleeper of Unbelievably Sparkly Sleep.

Just some of his official titles :)

Process:

5 Feb:
Taking a break from the large obese monster and sculpting out a rather miffed dragon bust. Probably because I haven't added any teeth yet!

6 Feb:
Guess who is now the proud new owner of some nice shiny serrated teeth chompers? The dragon I was sculpting that didn't have teeth yesterday! Not much of a surprise but hey

8 Feb:
Starting to bring in the nice big scale and fleshy shapes. This is a really fun phase of sculpting!

12 Feb:
Today's lunch time crunch involved sculpting the inside of the mouth and adding some more pronounced spikes behind the eye.

13 Feb:
This lunch was all about the lower jaw. I only have a bit less than an hour to work on it each day during lunch.

23 Feb:
Today I worked on the bridge of the snout and the "forehead" I guess. Do dragons have foreheads?

26 Feb :
A big leap forward for today's progress post on the dragon bust! Finished all the scales on the snout, I went really small around the lips because I wanted them to feel like they could move and emote. I love working on this dragon! So much fun

1 March:
Today I started fleshing out the neck, getting nice big armored scales down the back. I don't make the individual scales too big so that they wouldn't inhibit movement.

6 March:
Before I could carry on my mission of detailing this dragon. I had to take a brief but very important detour to make sure this fellows chompers fit nicely together and had a pleasing look. I'm glad I did it now because I had to do quite a bit of pushing and pulling to get it looking cool. I'm happy enough to move forward again now. He has such a sinister smile!

9 March:
Spending Friday night putting some hours into the lower jaw to get it done , still needs details on the large spikes that frame the jaw line but I'm glad I got the tiny scales that cover the lip done! Whew


10 March:
Teeth, gums and inner mouth all coming along nicely! Always brush your ravenous maw full of flesh ripping teeth kids!

12 March:
When it comes to a dragon's neck, it's all a matter of scale. As in a lot of them. A way to go still, but it's kind of like meditation when you get going.

13 March:
Big goal of finishing blocking in all the scales done! Now it's onto the polish pass.

A couple of render and comping passes later he's all done!

Here is the model without color

I am very pleased with how this model turned out and I loved working on it.

In other news, Thuban Dragon Skull available as a resin kit soon
Altais won't be part of this run of resin kits, but Thuban and his 2 compatriots Rastaban and Eltanin are being 3D printed as we speak. More info to follow soon. So stoked!!


To see more of my work go to https://www.artstation.com/lyntonlevengood

Sort:  

Wow! Is about all that I can say at this stage! I have a little grandson that is fascinated since the age of 3 with the galaxy, planets and Dinosaurs! Just wait until I show him this! Blessings and Upvoted!

Thanks so much, My love for dragons and imagination is rooted in a childhood love of dinosaurs. I hope he will enjoy the pictures :)

Wow, very impressive work! All the process shots are great. It's amazing to see this model take shape and you've developed some incredible final renders. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks very much, glad you enjoyed seeing the process.

Man Alive... that's some seriously impressive work!

What's gonna happen with the dragon once he's done? Just a hobby or is he gonna feature somewhere?

Thanks very much, This was just done for myself to continue learning the program(Zbrush). I would like to get it 3D printed in the future and sell model kits. That would be fun.

Very impressive, love your work!

Thanks so much!

Dragon Lord Altais (The Goat), fifth among the Taurellian Highlords.
He Who Has the Sandwich He Wants Without Argument, Caller of First Dibs, Keeper of the TV Remote, Chooser of Channels,
Unquestionable Master of the Spit-roast, Wealth Redistribution Receiver, Confiscator of Goodies, Appreciator of Excess Gains, Sleeper of Unbelievably Sparkly Sleep.


Haha haha.

Also, that is pretty amazing work you got there. It is so detailed. Even down to the tiny serrations on the teeth. Well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30