# dragonartcontest

in #dragoncontest7 years ago (edited)

Hi I posted the pic on my own blog and in a comment, but now I'm going to make a new blog post to submit my entry for the dragon contest @kristyglas Dragon Art Contest

My Dragon's name is

Dragkawaii

He's cute
He's small,
and He is the size of a penny.

But don't be fooled by his adorableness. He's holding a red rare pearl which is a sign for wisdom and power. Dragkawaii holds the pearl to show he is a master of inner awareness and value of life. His jewel is just a representation of a forgotten and intangible deeper truth to knowing ones self. Notice how his arms are stretched out as if he is willing to give it away; however, he also looks like he is still trying to hold on to it with his short arms.

Now, I did not know why I made Dragkawaii, until I stumbled upon this contest. I had to explain why he is an extension of me. Dragkawaii looks likes he's trying to hold on to the pearl as well as give it away. He appears to be in a conflicting place of cognitive dissonance. I feel I am in that situation now; my two basic choices are to live a kind, and soulful path or a materialistic monetized life. It is a struggle to balance my inner awareness and wisdom, I often get distracted by work obligations and the facade that things look "adorable". Dragkawaii's short arms are a representation of my limiting and self doubts. I don't often trust the simplicity and effortless flow to everyday life, instead, I give away my inner power to mindless activities and the dependency to earn money . The penny is also symbolic in this sculpture because its almost as big as the dragon. The penny shows that money plays a big role is my own confidence to accept my inner artistic wisdom. The penny is a representation of financial security, and my deep attachments to ensuring I'm safe. Dragons are know to hoard gold to use as a bed and personifies their greed. Greed ultimately means there is a fear of lacking, not having enough. The gold/money/penny is what rules and controls my better judgement to just do what comes natural to me, which is art and creativity...

SOOOO.... By mistake or just the joy of making art and being creative. Dragkawaii has enlighten me , that I have to get pass my fear of security with finance and truly continue" to be" AND live my passion as an artist. True treasure is not what you can physically hold, but what you can give and share endlessly.

dragon kawaii clay 2.jpg

dragonartcontest @kristyglas

Sort:  

He is cute :)

Oh how cute he is! <3

Looks funky! :)

thank you funky cute i hope

funky cute, you bet! :)

I am sorry but you cannot enter the contest, as the rules were clear: it has to be 100% your own work

A different medium for the dragon contest and its green!! Upvote and resteem for you my friend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49