Is the manual curation of Curie valuable for the platform and its members?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Is the manual curation of Curie valuable for the platform and its members?


I have been working with the @curie team for a few months now, especially as an active curator since July. I have to say that getting familiarized to the guidelines we use really helped me to improve my content. Reading through other people's posts, most of them truly outstanding, also gave me some ideas about the direction I could give to my own page.

I'd like to discuss an idea that is stated on some @curie posts, such as the Author Showcases and the Comment Contests. It is the "spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content", as well as "its commitment to building community and fostering engagement on the Steem blockchain". Curating of the content is performed manually by the team, which means that a lot of it may be missed (we do hope it isn't and we work hard for it). Additionally, we, the curators, should always feel encouraged to engage with the author. Sometimes it's not just the (not so much lately) juicy votes but the feedback comments that motivate the content producers. On that subject, I present my question.


  • Yes, absolutely.

  • Yes, but it could be improved.

  • I don't know about Curie's work.

  • Not really.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for Yes, but it could be improved..

How would you improve it? :)

Voted for "yes absolutely." Curie has single-handedly gotten me re-engaged with the steemit platform. I had all but given up until i realized there were some people who might read my posts and, even better, upvote them. Curie is emblematic of an important minority which rewards posts for the value and effort behind them and not just as a way of generating rewards. The possibility of a Curie upvote makes me want to write the best that I possibly can in every post

Amazing answer! I'm one of those curators addicted to the fiction tag, so I've come across your work a few times. Glad to have you active on the platform! Thank you for your valuable contribution to the poll.

Voted for Yes, but it could be improved..

I should have been chosen more often:))

Haha! I get what you're saying! I know some amazing authors whose content is worthy of that, and I'd love to be chosen more often too... BUT upvoting the same people more regularly would imply to not upvote new, promising authors that haven't had much support lately... So, I believe it's necessary to keep adding variety to the upvoted authors' list, and VP is not endless :)

Voted for I don't know about Curie's work..

Curie is a community witness and a meritocratic community curation project. Following are Curie’s main goals:

  1. To discover and reward undiscovered but exceptional content by persistent creators with limited success.
  2. To empower quality curators.
  3. To develop a curation community on Steem.
  4. To build communities.
  5. To serve as a community witness.

All of this with an absolute commitment to meritocracy and transparency with an aspiration towards zero corruption.

You can read more about the project here. Also, you can join our Discord server :)

Thank you very much zoexantelamv :) That sounds very good. I will continue to inform myself.

Voted for Yes, absolutely..

I'm glad! However, there's always room for improvement, and we'll surely continue to do so :)

Voted for Yes, absolutely..

And I'm sure you are going to improve it )

Sure thing! :D

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for Yes, but it could be improved..

How would you improve it? :)

crack knuckles

First, we have to let something really clear, manual curating is the only way to do it consciously and with meaning, bots may be really helpful with some tasks here and there but in the actual curation they are hugely limited until someone develops a true AI to make the curation process the mos human way possible and enslaves us all.

Now here comes the deal, manual 100% human curation it's of course not perfect because everyone is a victim of our own flaws and biases, humans are subjective and that's not new, to overcome this we have the incredibly annoying tasks of getting rid of those pesky subjective obstacles, and I think the best way is to encourage curators, reviewers ad the whole team to gain expertise in the fields that are being curated, travel, food, photography, art etc. Even if it is a little the improvement will benefit everyone because it assures the selection of truly exceptional content, is not the easiest way but I think is the safest to achive our goal and deliver a better service to the platform, education does wonders, who would have thought?

Great comment, I agree with you :)

Voted for Yes, but it could be improved..
Hi Zoe, great question and to add, would it be possible for you to open a channel where people can nominate articles to @curie ? That way it would take some pressure off the curators skimming the 'new' feed whichn is often a depressing place to skim!

Thank you for your contribution! Well, most curators don't do the overwhelming job of diving on the "new" tag. There are some useful tools to help us browse and find exceptionality more effectively, such as SteemSQL, SteemLookUp, GinaBot... Personally, the power of the technology I have available isn't very remarkable, so I rely on scrolling through my favorite tags and adding promising authors to GinaBot. About the channel you mention, feel free to drop by Curie's Discord server and suggest it :)

Thanks for the insight and invite @zoexantelamv . I have never used Ginabot so perhaps its sbout time I learned!
Have a wonderful weekend and best wishes :-)

Voted for Yes, absolutely..

Good job!

Still, there is room for improvement :D Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13