Remember these?!

in #dpoll6 years ago (edited)

Remember these?!


How much space do they have?

PC090053.JPG

Tell me please what more do you know about them!

PC090054.JPG


  • 1024 bytes

  • 512 bytes

  • 1/2 MB

  • 2048 KB

  • 1,5 MB

  • 256 KB

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for 1,5 MB.

I think they had 1.2 MB, and the smaller, some newer floppy disks 1.44 MB.
Some day I copied the most important ones to a hard disk, later to DVD, and destroyed them to avoid data theft.

I go for 1.2, not sure at all yet :) Doubt followed after posting...
Need to give it a vote myself :D

See Wikipedia, "floppy disk" article.

Voted for 1,5 MB.

Voted for 1,5 MB.

1,5mb if not more.

I doubt about 1.44 but really cannot remember the HighDensity capacity nor can I find info about it...
@deathcross is suggesting 1.2 which is stored somewhere in my brain too [about this case] :D

Kind of a trick question as they started out holding less than 1/2 a Mb and then were able to hold more later. Over an Mb if memory serves.

I thought I knew the answer :)))

It may have been more the disk drive and advances in that tech that allowed the advance, so in a sense they probably always could store more than 1/2 a MB-ish but lacked the drive to do it. 😎

Maybe your answer is most correct, so now I remember how it was :D
There were a lot of errors when reading with optimised space... too sensitive floppy disk with high density format.

Yeah. Fun flashback. There is a box or two of mine still hanging around. Can't throw them out. My hope, at this point, is that aliens have the tech to read them. "HODLer since birth", me Mom always said. 😎

Voted for 1,5 MB.

Voted for 1,5 MB.

Voted for 512 bytes.

For this I'm sure it is not... :P

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of tolgahanuzun.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for 512 bytes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76