Do you use Airbnb?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Do you use Airbnb?


I have been host for over 3 years now, but I have never been a guest before. I don't travel or anything anymore. But it would be interesting to see if there are any other hosts using Steem.

Feel free to mention your experiences too, I'm interested to know.


  • Yes, as a host

  • Yes, as a guest

  • Yes, as a host and a guest

  • No

  • I have no idea what Airbnb is...

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • Yes, as a guest

Voted for

  • Yes, as a guest

hey, @pjau.

i didn't know you were an Airbnb host. That's awesome. Full of surprises. :)

We've used Airbnb twice now, the last two trips to Oahu, and i would definitely do it again, especially for longer trips and to places where hotels will be more expensive, like resort areas.

Looks like there's at least one other airbnb host on STEEM.

How's your experience as a host been? Does airbnb treat you okay? What about the caliber of guests? I would imagine you've ran into all kinds in three years.

I didn't know you were an Airbnb host

Yeah I'm one of those type of people that will let anyone in their house. lol

How's your experience as a host been?

Overall very good, I would of quit otherwise and went to just having long term lodgers.

Does airbnb treat you okay?

Generally they take my side with any bad guests, communication with them is relatively quick and easy if any issues to arise. I use their text chat or they call me.

What about the caliber of guests? I would imagine you've ran into all kinds in three years.

I've had about 500 guests now, I rent 2 rooms in my home, I'm booked all year around. As for the guests they are mostly good. I have some real stats that I have kept, and they have held up true as long as I have continued.

  • About 1% are terrible guests, they are disgusting, filthy pond scum, horrible people. I've had people use my toothbrush, leave "used tissues" all over the floor, food mashed into the carpet, puke on the carpet, people break stuff, and some worse things I don't really want to mention.
  • About 9% are bad guests, they are guests I would not like to return, usually are just messy or don't follow my simple rules or steal things like towels or cutlery (people steal forks, fucking weirdos)
  • The remaining 90% are my last category, the passable category, I welcome these to return. They range from ok guests to fucking amazing ones. I've had presents from people, usually foods from their country, like treats of some sort. Maybe a fridge magnet or toy. haha

I'm glad to hear that the greater majority of your guests who are welcome to return. Just how often does that happen? I'm kind of into seeing what kind of deals I can get and staying at different places, but as I've said, I've only done it twice now, and I'm never probably going to go to the same area so many times that I'll end up booking the same place again (even if it is available).

If I were ever going to own a property to rent out, it would be a vacation rental, and most likely through a service like Airbnb. Advertising it yourself can be some time and money, too, so there's always the trade off. I don't like the idea of long term renters (it seems to me that without regular checking in, all kinds of things could be happening, like what you described, only over longer periods of time).

I guess there's not really a way to keep track of the terrible to bad guests, though I would think hosts get to rate their guests, too, right? They're bound to be the same in more than one place if they've rented more than once.

Just how often does that happen?

Fairly often, I've had a couple people stay 8-10 times even, a few days at a time. I had someone stay last week, that I hadn't seen for over a year and a half too. But a bunch more that have stayed maybe a couple times.

I don't like the idea of long term renters

After the initial first few weeks they show their true colours. People get to the settled in point. Some people are naturally bad to begin with, but even people that might be great for 2-3 weeks might just be putting on a show for you. haha. I cap it at 4 weeks, generally don't see longer than 1 to 2 weeks though.

I would think hosts get to rate their guests, too, right?

Yup, I had a guest recently that turned up drunk and puked on my carpet, I gave him a bad review and he was literally begging me for forgiveness in the chat after my review came out. He wanted me to change the review, but once both sides are posted that is it, they can't be edited. No chance I would edit even if I could.

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • I have no idea what Airbnb is...

Voted for

  • I have no idea what Airbnb is...

I never knew about this Airbnb prior to this poll but I just googled :)

Ha nice, yeah I was curious to how many people have not heard of it. I know in the UK, Europe and USA it is extremely popular now.

Yeah, I'm in Africa. Such services almost do not exist here :)

Posted using Partiko Android

It actually looks like every African country is on the list. I was able to search and see some Airbnb in Cameroon though.

I never knew about this whole Airbnb thingy. Thanks for the lesson 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • No

Not able to travel much at the moment, so I haven't had the chance to try it.

Well I hope you have a great stay if and when you do try it. 😊

Voted for

  • No

I am not sure if it is on my country or not. Maybe No. I would love to use it as a host if so. But when I go abroad I stay at hotel, never use Airbnb :)

I am not sure if it is on my country or not

I have just found this for you, a list of all the countries that they serve: https://www.airbnb.co.uk/sitemaps

But when I go abroad I stay at hotel, never use Airbnb

You should give it a shot 😁

Thanks. Maybe next time. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Yes, as a guest

I used it as a guest maybe 3 times. It was nice.

That's great to hear. :)

Voted for

  • Yes, as a guest

I prefer an actual home than a hotel. Flexibility on check out time along with it actually has a better vibe. Not to mention the amount of space is way better than a hotel.

I prefer an actual home than a hotel

That's what most of my guests say, plus they like the fact it's A LOT cheaper.

I forgot to mention that. The price is way better. I remember when I went to New York those hotels were absurd. So I went to Airbnb ended up splitting a home instead.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Voted for

  • No

I just don't like the idea of staying in someones home! I'd rather have a hotel or guest house. It's more sociable, someone else makes the bed and I get free shower caps!

I'm sort of on the fence about using it myself. Like I would be fine with booking an entire place to myself, but as for what I offer, staying in the same house as the host, I probably would not want to do that.

As for room service, bed making etc, I guess that is what hotels are for. 😊 Though I have been in hotels that charge 3-4x what I do and they are cess pools in comparison to my place. My place may be old but it is clean at least. haha

Thats why you should be happy I don't use Air BnB, it wouldn't be if I were staying there on my holidays lol ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74