Do you believe humans can stay monogamous in relationships?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Do you believe humans can stay monogamous in relationships?


images (3).jpegImage source: Pixabay

Hi there!

I got into a conversation with some friend lately about monogamous relationships. They believe it's hard to stay monogamous especially when their partners aren't around.

Personally, I think it's just an excuse to have sex with other people. But then, I met someone who gave some dope arguments.

He argued it's hard to stay attracted to one person.

So I'm asking you guys, is it possible to stay monogamous in a relationship?


  • Yes

  • No

  • Others (state in the comments)

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for Yes.

I'm glad to see the response that this particular poll has gotten so far because it gives me hope for humanity.

I've been married for 30 years now to the same woman. My parents have been married for going on 55, and my grandparents on both sides were married all their lives, so yes, emphatically yes, it's possible to have a lifelong relationship with one person.

Obviously, it's also possible for people to want more than one relationship. That happens all the time, and is apt to be the cause of breaking a current relationship. I think whether a person can continue to stay attracted to their spouse over time depends a lot on them, their spouse, and what each of their priorities are. Is it to continue to build the bonds of love and friendship, along with the family that generally comes from such a union, or does it become more self-centered, with different goals, wants and needs?

It's not very easy to figure all that out at the beginning of a relationship, but it is definitely possible, and for those who do it and keep working at it, it is a lifelong source of fulfillment and satisfaction.

Wow

Thanks a lot for your comment

I share your sentiments too. (although I'm still in my twenties and I'm not married)

I've read articles that say it's not possible to be attracted to just one person. As such, monogamous relationships can't really work.

It's serious for me as I'm having thoughts about my current relationship. We live in different states and I wonder if the relationship can survive.

Your story gives me hope.

Blessings

My wife and I lived in different states for most of 16 months a while back when I was away at school and she was working, but we had been married 25 years by then, and so, I imagine it would be different than when someone is dating or been married for a short while. That said, though, it's doable, but certainly not the way you want it to go for too long. Hopefully, there's some way for the two of you to at least live closer together. I wish you the all the best. :)

Voted for Yes.

Voted for Yes.

It's possible. This doesn't mean it's the way everyone should or must live.

Voted for Yes.

Voted for Yes.

Voted for Yes.

Voted for Others (state in the comments).

Yes!...but we are not built that way... religion ask people to be that way.

Voted for Yes.

Voted for Others (state in the comments).

Some can, others can't. I think humans have mixed attitudes. I read a book about this and our ancestors could have lived various time periods, some hundred thousand years monogamous, some hundred thousand, not.

Promiscuity also can have genetic-evolutionary benefits.

Voted for Yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58773.92
ETH 2988.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74