How do you feel about curation sniping? Is it a flaggable offense?

in #dpoll6 years ago (edited)

How do you feel about curation sniping? Is it a flaggable offense?


I'm sure a few have noticed the many snipers out there.

Don't worry. They are not after your life.

They are after curation rewards and many have refined the practice. It has become something of an art. A few noteworthy examples are @cheneats and @lordofreward. Curation snipers have a system for predicting content that will be receiving upvotes using certain clues. They will often leave a small vote in anticipation of the larger votes coming. The clues may be the mark having established self-voting behavior (including alts) or something as simple as noticing they just bid on a post with a bot (practice known as bot front running).

For the curation purist, I understand why it can be annoying

Automated sniping is not real curation as it doesn't necessarily take into consideration the content or perceived value. To simplify, it is merely predicting and attempting to capitalize on patterns. I personally would never flag someone that sniped my comments or posts as I think the problem is more related to the system. As you have heard it said..

Don't hate the player, hate the game

Yes, I hate using cliches like that but whatever..

Anyways, what do you think about curation sniping? Would you flag a user that did this to your content or would you let it slide???


  • Flag first, ask questions later.

  • I would type a strongly worded comment to the sniper.

  • Sniper, no sniping!

  • I snipe. Fight me.

  • Something, something protocol.

  • Yes

  • No

  • Maybe so

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of tolgahanuzun.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

IF the whole system works good, sniping should be a part of good curation. This is like frontrunning good posts we predict will be upvoted after - based on many metrics.
I snipe very much in the faith of above. If there is complain about this, maybe Steem curation system should be changed?

Voted for No.

As far as I know, the only thing that affects is other voters' curation rewards.

Unless you are usually upvoting yourself (with or without alts) to gain most of the rewards, it shouldn't matter if others are doing it to you.

Given that curators don't always receive their 25% share, I don't think it matters.

Exactly, this. Unless you are a hardcore self voter, shouldn't really make a difference.

And, if one is a habitual hardcore self voter. They leave themselves wide open for it by telegraphing their votes.

Reminds me of cartoonish boxer winding up their punch. Like what do you expect is going to happen?! Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

The only problem with that, in my opinion, is that it amplifies the abuse done by various vote buyers.
If someone buys lots of votes for basically shitposts, the snipers probably don't differentiate them from actual quality content. Otherwise, if sniping was done only on posts that get lots of organic upvotes, it would probably improve the distribution of rewards, at least on the authors side.
But I doubt that those bots care about what kind of content they actually upvote, as long as they get their (unfair?)share of curation rewards.

This is how I stumbled onto the practice. One of our resident members @mys taught me all about it.
I agree with you but in one way if its a good sniper they are taking away rewards without a flag.
Its a pretty powerful way to fight abuse behind the scenes.

To simply answer your question, I vote No also.

One could use "Don't hate the player, hate the game" all day to cherry pick moral dilemmas on Steem.

Sniping kinda smells like, "everyone else is doing it... it must be cool... especially since the new guys can't figure it out, or they can't program one their selfs." That's cool though, I too would rather dictate the snipers on me.

BTW, a self-upvoting doesn't require anyone's permission. Most people also don't realize that self voting is rewards pool rape.

I'll probably join the club though. Get the snipe, get the money, get stuff, stab, kick, stab, scream, jab... yeah, lets get it.

What happens to a snipers rewards when a person flags their own sniped post?

Let stop flagging abusers and start flagging ourselves! We did something wrong many times in our lives lets just flag ourselves for that.

Voted for No.

It happens frequently to me for 'certain' comment rewards I get. I dont want to call anyone out, because to me its just not a big deal and the people who do the sniping in my opinion can have their cut for what they do for me.

I don't mean to abstract, but just don't like pointing fingers even though the 'perpetrators' are doing nothing wrong in my opinion.

Hey, it's positive rshares so why not?! I agree.

I don't mind either but would encourage even snipers to allocate some SP to positive curation. The platform could always use more of it imho.

Posted using Partiko Android

but would encourage even snipers to allocate some SP to positive curation.

I see cheneats quite often trying to get something from my comments, but do they get anything substantial? or just dust..

It’s okay. I’m open about it since we are still on manual. I take that tiny amount as tip. Lol

I know... and your welcome to the tip ;)

Voted for No.

I find curation sniping is innocent in comparison to delegate the bid bots.

In comparison, it is relatively innocent but still not really curation that is positive. It is symptomatic at least in part by bid bots.

If they all switched to off chain bids, there would be far less of an incentive as it would be more difficult to predict.

Predictable self-voters are another matter entirely. They present a pattern that allows others to gain so don't think they have room to get pissy when people do it. Just my 2 cents

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for No.

Dang it @emrebeyler why do I have to write my comment twice?
I dont mind now. I used to get frustrated because I knew they were not upvoting my content. WTH? Whats wrong with a good circlejerk with alt accounts and bought stake?

This will be addressed, soon. Sorry for the trouble.

Hi @anthonyadavisii!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.504 which ranks you at #1946 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #180.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68104.95
ETH 2641.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69