You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: African Violets ~propegation to feed addiction.

in #doyougrow7 years ago

Hello Emily!
What a brilliant tutorial. I feel like I could take on African Violets now. I have a perfect track record of killing every single African violet I've ever tried to grow, along with Orcids in close second place. I have one stubborn Paleonopsis thats clinging to life, goodness knows how, as I generally forget about it for months at a time.

Do they basically like to be submerged like a granny trying to keep their hair dry in the pool at her weekly water aerobics class? Or do they just want a permament sip of water that a drip tray would offer?

Sort:  

Oh goodness!! LOL, that totally cracked me up! (the granny part, not the plant dying part). Thank you for taking the time to check out my post :)
I'm not sure why I have been so lucky with African Violets. I'm the worst plant Mom ever (I've never been able to keep an orchid for more than a month or two). I pretty much only fertilize the violets with praise. I think also the fact that I have a wall of windows that face south helps. The blinds are such that I can regulate the amount of light that comes through. They seem to prefer filtered light as they are little jungle beings as I understand.
They can be watered just like a normal house plant. They won't die if their leaves get wet but the leaf touched will usually spot or rot and die.. I like to give them a little cushion of florists moss between the top of the soil and the leaves. They seem to like that. I think it keeps the moist soil from getting to the bottom leaves and also mimics their natural environment a bit. I think a drip tray would do them well. They like a slight bit of constant moisture best is what I have found.
But just to be clear, I am not an expert...I seem to have just gotten lucky ;) I hope you give one a go. Just tell it how lovely it is and keep your fingers crossed :)

Thanks for your reply!
I'll give it a go.
Pretty pretty plant... Grow little pretty plant :)

( I sent you a note in your wallet)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60893.72
ETH 2624.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56