Breaking Out Of My Shell With A New Job Adventure

in #doyougrow7 years ago (edited)

Something really cool happened last week. I was contacted out of the blue by a farmer who wanted me to work for him. He wanted me full time but I cannot commit to that, I have so much to do here with my gardens....but we came to a great compromise!

We went back this morning...there were chicks there too, it looks like we have 4 new chicks haha!!
20180410_130721.jpg

Mike's Garden Harvest. This is one side of the field, where the community garden beds and a children's learning garden is going!
20180409_115453.jpg

He runs a produce CSA, running 20 weeks of 250 clients and a 60 plot community garden. He wants me to grow and manage the perennial herb garden! I met him yesterday at his farm...they are busy building a parking pad, high tunnel, wash station, produce cooler and market stand. My garden will provide all the herbs and edible flowers for 250 vegetable boxes a week. I will also be able to sell my spices, master tonic, seeds and jellies at his market stand.

Another shot of the field
20180410_103705.jpg

This is where my garden is going!!! From the tree on the left over to the stand of pine trees
20180410_103822.jpg

Bee hives going in this little alcove inside the trees. I will be planting lots of flowers for them!
20180410_103819.jpg

This is all for my garden, including rhubarb!!
20180410_103804.jpg

It is located on the same street as my favourite place to buy seeds locally....and we got to go there today and I picked out enough seeds to start the seedlings for this project. I am not even done yet and look what I am starting with!!!

Greta's Gardens!! She saves seeds like a boss!!
20180410_104019(0).jpg

Not gonna lie....it was a rush grabbing as many seed packets as I wanted!! I can't wait to go shopping for the edible flowers and direct seed seeds!! 🤓 😂 #ilovealltheseeds
20180410_104125.jpg

20180410_104131.jpg

Back room full of seeds!!!!
20180410_104134.jpg

I got 52 packets to start...herbs and flowers, baby!!
20180409_135330.jpg

I am getting ready as we speak to start all of these seeds. It is crazy because I also have about 500 plants of my own to transplant and my own late seeds to start!! I really hope I can pull this job off and create a beautiful, successful herb garden that can provide for his clients and help the pollinators. Fingers crossed y'all!! I hope you all have the best day!!!

Thank you for reading! Take care of you and yours ❤

Sort:  

Good luck! That sounds like a lot of hard work! Need support? I am willingly giving you my support digitally online lol! Seriously, I hope you can manage all your projects well and here's to your success! You must have been highly recommended by someone who trusts you and your work :D

Awwww @leeart, thank you so much! I seriously hope i can too hahaha!! I am here for you too if you ever need! <3

That all sounds really amazing @karenfoster! Good luck on this job! It's great that you got such a nice opportunity doing something you're so excited about :D

It is a blessing for sure, I think :) Thank you @playfulfoodie! <3

What a great opportunity!! So excited for you :) Your hard work is paying off & good for you for choosing whats important to you not to work full time but still being open to other opportunities. Looking forward to seeing those sprouts soon!

Thank you @sagescrub. I am hoping the things I will learn on the farm and from other growers will help me further on down the line! I am really excited too, super nervous about executing it all. First basil sprouts are up today!!
20180414_104540.jpg

Totally! You'll do great :) Yay basil!! They look so happy and energetic already :)

Is this your friend's land brother?

It is another farmer's land, yes! I am planting in a small area compared to what is there

Ooo..Good
May your plants flourish,

Now I'm back to the boarding school so I can not post #doyougrow because it's a bit busy, maybe some day again I will also see my plant again

I will be here when you have the time to share <3 I hope you have a relaxing weekend!

That is so awesome! Hope it works out for you 💗

Thank you @alaskahippie! <3 fingers crossed!!

🤞🤞both feet, eyes are crossed, arms and legs too. LOL 😄

Wow!! How did he find out about you? Did you
already know him, or did somebody tell him you'd be a good fit for the job? What an amazing job opportunity, doing something you love!!

He heard about me from someone, I think through social media too maybe. I am so excited:)

Wonderful. You have larger area farming . it is large project. Thanks for sharing

Cheers to you @rikaz87 <3 thank you for visiting!

Congratulations Karen, sounds like a fantastic opportunity.

Thank you @pennsif, I think it is too <3 <3 <3

I am excited because you are. It's great to see passion for something. I know everything will work out because you care so much about it.

Haha I am literally so excited lol. I am so nervous! Thank you for the kind words <3 <3<3

How cool is this??? A job you will just love, working for someone you like, growing things just as you like. Wow!

You will be busy, for sure, but a good busy!

It is super cool!! I am still pinching myself:)
Going to be sooooo busy! Up right now to seed lol!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61