You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Make Downvoting Great Again!

in #downvoting7 years ago

It is important to point out that Self Vote Abuse (the self vote of low effort spammy posts/comments) is bad even when done by smaller accounts.
Policy enforcement by any new formed group needs to be consistent across the board:
https://steemit.com/steemitabuse/@steempolice/steem-has-no-future-unless-self-vote-abuse-is-stopped-steemit-inc-and-whales-do-your-part

Sort:  

This seems in line with the definition I gave in the post - self-rewarding content more than the value it is worth.

Yes, the problem though is always drawing the line... but as with the flag vs downvote issue I think in then we will be able to find better solutions than bots and retaliation wars.

Thanks for sparking a great conversation Tim, I've reblogged it of course for what it's worth.

Steemit doesn't need a police force. There is no need for the kind of policy enforcement you are advocating.

I'm calling for the same thing as what Timcliff is advocating for. I guess you just don't like my nickname. I don't either. And I don't want this new group to be called "Police", nor I'm gonna be part of it.
Whether you like it or not Steemcleaners, Spaminator, Cheetah and even your bots have been POLICING content and behaviour....but not very effectively against Self Vote Abuse (the evidence is all there to see)
https://steemit.com/steemitabuse/@steempolice/steem-has-no-future-unless-self-vote-abuse-is-stopped-steemit-inc-and-whales-do-your-part
This new group would be no different to the above but specialized to tackle Self Vote Abuse, and with enough Steem Power to neutralize the abuses.
Next time you downvote make sure you understand what you're downvoting, and not just downvoting based on emotional reaction to a nickname. That's why among the names I suggested to lead this new group there isn't yours. Your previous attempts to tackle the issue were ill judged and ineffective....and you proved your ill judgement once again.

I don't like your nickname or your previous posts. You are not quite coming at the problem from the same angle as Tim.

Concepts matter. Calling yourself police is creating an association. Calling what the services and bots you mention "policing" matters, and I reject the association.

Next time you downvote make sure you understand what you're downvoting [...]

The whole point of @timcliff 's post is in recognition of the freedom to vote up or down. No explanation is required. It does not matter to me if you understand why I vote, the vote speaks for itself.

Your previous attempts to tackle the issue were ill judged and ineffective....and you proved your ill judgement once again.

I have to admit that it was not a success. I do not claim to have perfect judgement or to be correct all the time. I seek the best advice and do my best to learn. I hope to be part of current and future discussions on the subject and do what I can to contribute to the best ideas.

In a personal capacity, when I am not charged with responsibility of delegations for a purpose, I act as a free agent and I vote how I please. You would do well to respect this.

In my posts I do not advocate for anything different than what Timcliff proposed.

Have an organized community group (similar to SteemCleaners) with delegated voting power specifically to be used for the purpose of downvoting serious cases of voting abuse.

In the comment you downvoted I just called for the new (community) policy to be consistant, and apply also to abusers with lower payouts.
Do you disagree with the content of my post? No, just the terminology and the nickname.

Policing is enforcing an agreed policy (which is what Steemcleaners and Cheetah have been doing).
Shall we change the English language just because of our dislike for the (real life) Police. Maybe.

Don't get me wrong. I understand why it triggered you. My first reaction to Police is....Fuck the Police! But you know once upon a time there was also community run policemen, they wasn't always the armed gangsters of the Government.

I would call the new group something like SelfVoteAbuseTeam, not certainly Police.

And I would likely support it. But not under your name of police.

In my latest post (pls see it) I indicated an abuse going on here (I mentioned you on the post) and I want you to see it and take action. I wish you more success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44