You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing downvote control tool, an open source downvote tool

in #downvotes5 years ago

Dear @howo

Solid read.

My strong impression is thart in current form that downvote pool is causing more harm than bringing benefits. Right now all those downvotes look like a whichhunt. Personally I know few users who got heavily downvoted and noone (absolutely noone) took time to warn him that he is doing something wrong.

No warning. No explanation. Just pure punishment followed by "hate". Downvote pool is being abused.

Our purpose should be to educate users and build their awareness and punish only those who have been warned at least once or twice. But noone really seem to bother about that issue :(

Used to counteract upvotes from specified accounts, meaning that you will downvote anything that they choose to upvote at a given rate relative to their upvote.

Great idea.

One small remark: only content that is accepting rewards should be downvoted

Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

No warning. No explanation. Just pure punishment followed by "hate". Downvote pool is being abused.

Well stated.

Please explain the moral/legal theory behind killing bit-bots?

I don't understand why they are so hated.

I also don't understand why people don't just use the MUTE feature.

Don't people want a cheap and easy way to advertise their post?

Isn't the built-in "promote" feature basically pointless?

Selling votes (ENDORSEMENTS) seems like a free-market solution to me.

Your remarks are valid, I think it's because the culture is changing rapidly, people will learn pretty quickly the overall culture and how to behave. I've seen quite a few people who came to me to ask why I've downvoted them and I replied. It would be better to be able to leave a comment, but I think there are enough automated comments everywhere already.

" only content that is accepting rewards should be downvoted"

Great idea !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87