You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another post about downvotes

in #downvotes5 years ago

Keep fighting the good fight!
It hasn't even been that long since the changes and I would say 95% of the people I've talked to like it. It's not even close.

Sort:  

I'm enjoying the curation going on, was planning on making a post about that as well later. Although many are just attempting to snipe instead of spread them around it's better than what they were doing prior. :)

The curation is really great.
Sniping can be very profitable. There are a few predictable whales to front run.

It's better than self voting and vote trading. The only problem is a lot of people are doing it on the accounts that are famous for that .
There are a lot of real abusers to continue to deal with first then maybe that can come after they've given up.

I've turned off auto voting off most personal accounts and am mostly doing it for initiatives and trails these days. It's only cost me around 10% in the last two weeks and since I don't have millions of SP, meh.

I've set my trail so it follow votes around 0.01 SBD which surely makes the minnows happy when they see that especially since I'm following a few very small ones. I wish I could increase it to 0.025 SBD so I need to buy more steem or vote for less. Let's see what happens.

Sniping the whales isn't as profitable as most people think it is. It's a competitive game. I'll let you in on a secret. Go for the second tier user, not the highest earners. The vote mass to front run can be much more favourably distributed. Also, if you find a post you think might become popular, give it a big upvote and resteem it to put more eyes on it!

I suggest anyone who doubts my words go and take a deep dive into the curation rewards on SteemWorld.

Actually on my trail votes I have fairly tight limits and avoid voting on people with too many votes or rewards automatically. Can't vote for everyone and the people with smaller payouts will notice it more.
I'll still manually curate whatever I lile regardless.

Most curators (people with money invested here) are in it for the money, not to find good content and get it seen. And under the new rules, it's very easy to make money curating. Just find a post that is above $10, and upvote it 100%, unless it's complete garbage. As long as it's not obviously a shitpost (picture of a flower and 2 sentences, for example) it won't get hit by downvotes, and you'll max your profits. Rinse and repeat.
In other words, most curators post H21 are just spamming their votes onto posts that already have lots of votes. That's not real curation, it's profiteering, and being called "NewSteem".

And under the new rules, it's very easy to make money curating. Just find a post that is above $10, and upvote it 100%

Yeah I don't need to read more from you to know how little you understand curation rewards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44