You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey guys, I am being downvoted by a guy with 80,000 Steempower. Just wanted to ask why??

in #downvote7 years ago

@truthforce, I am assuming from what you wrote, that you downvoted @demotruk first:

I originally downvoted two of his posts, because he even admitted the one was a repost from Reddit's Gallowboob, but I decided not to and I took them back.

If that is true, you went and hit a hornets nest, and now, feeling the result. I've only had good interactions with @demotruk.

Be wary of picking a fight on steemit.

Sort:  

Hi wakeupsheeps, I did not downvote him first, I see I made an unclear sentence and I will edit that. I did not mean to say I originally downvoted him as in I started it. He started downvoting me over 24 hours ago and I have no idea why he is targeting me.

I did this downvote 2 hours ago, and took it back. https://steemd.com/@truthforce

He downvoted me 13 times yesterday, more than 24 hours ago. https://steemd.com/@demotruk You may need to scroll through to find it. I see he downvotes a lot of people.

I would try and approach him in steem.chat, or reply to anything on his timeline and try to hash this out. I don't know him well, but @demotruk loves steemit and for the first time, found a social media platform that works for him. We all have to find a way to get along. Not great advice, I know.

Hmm. I asked a few people in discord, and someone said it might be because I was upvoting my own comments that it drains the reward pool. I am still new and not understanding the concept of the reward pool... hmm. May have to do some more research. In any event I sent him a wallet transfer of .001 steem with a message on it so hopefully I get a reply.

If I am doing something negative in terms of affecting a reward pool I had no idea. I thought I knew everything about SteemIt but this is a new term to me. :)

It's commonly acceptable to upvote your own posts. I do it with every one of mine. There is a big debate out there regarding upvoting your own comments.

Upvoting your own comments has some people up in arms. Ready to deploy bots to downvote this behavior. There is a common rewards pool and if you simply upvote your own material, and have a good chunk of steem power, you can make a good ROI on your investment and deplete the group pool.

That could easily be the reason for your situation. Nobody can tell anybody how to act on steemit, but they can downvote.

How can you tell if you've been downvoted?

If go to the end of your posts, before the comments, you can see the number of votes on your post. Click on upvote icon and you will see who voted. Most will have the plus sign next to the names, rarely you'll see a negative sign. It doesn't happen often, unless you're in a feud with someone or offended them. It will reduce your payout as well, determined by their vote power.

We all have to find a way to get along

very good advice; but we do need to see who abuses the system.

i'm not sure about the best way to fight abuse ( see what happned to @truthforce in this instance), but we need to know about it

I think I am probably an exception to the rule honestly. I see a lot of spammers lately. I think I will start to flag spam stuff now. When i first started here I didn't flag almost anyone because I didn't want to get into a fight with someone. But I think it is safe to say that the community would rally behind me if I am trying to improve steemit.

I would really suggest against flagging

  • your rep is low
  • your SP is going to be low after the delegation is over

People will retaliate, and unless you outgun them, it gets too messy

Moving on to the moral, not the practical, I would only police your own page for spam, not hunt it down all over Steemit

People really need to worry about themselves, their own page and their followers. Outside of that, it's out of their hands.

The fact that people feel it's their right to punish behavior, that is allowed on the platform seems a bit too righteous for me.

There are zero rules in place to protect you from situations like this. You need to reach out to him and solve this. Simple as that. Or open a new account and move assets to the new account. Two options.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56