How did you start playing Dota 2 and ruin your life?

in #dota26 years ago (edited)

Well, that was an overstatement obviously, that is the fun thing about DoTA, it ruins your life but also saves it :)
I started playing DoTA 3 Years ago when I was bed-ridden from a really long illness, and I haven't looked back!
After 3 Years and a very bad internet connection, I have managed to reach the Archon 5 Level and with under 6000 hours under my belt, I can say that DoTA is a very intellectually challenging game ( unless you are a pinoy, then you just shout "bobo" for the entire duration of the game and go to sleep happy)

Just kidding though, some of the best players I have played with were pinoy :D

This is basically how every game in SEA pans out!

In spite of this, I love this game and even in this busy lifestyle, I find time to play at least one game every day.
So tell me in the comments below, how did you start playing Dota 2? What kept you hooked?

Sort:  

Hi @varunkeskar
Excellent article. I subscribed to your blog. I will follow your news.
I will be grateful if you subscribe to my blog @user2627
Good luck to you!

I started playing Dota about 11/12 years ago when it was still a custom game in Warcraft 3. Since then I've racked up 6954 hours on Dota 2.

To me it's also the strategy aspect that makes it fun. I see it like chess, just more complicated, using a bigger board. Inevitably every single move every hero makes leads to the destruction of one ancient.

I am getting older now and don't have that much time to play games anymore. I also moved to another town and left a lot of friends behind. Dota 2 allows me to speak to my friends on a weekly basis as we play competitive games in one of our local leagues. We're a bunch of older dudes compared to the rest of the scene, but have managed to work our way into the first Division.

All in all, it's fun, it's competitive, it keeps my reactions sharp and it allows me to speak and keep in touch with a lot of my friends who I see maybe once a year if I'm lucky.

Key is balance- I work, social life, exercise and game! Mind, body and soul brother.

Yes! Key is balance! I work in strategy and analytics and i believe that DoTA 2 has made me stronger in both those areas :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71