My experience working for Door dash as an independent contractor driver

in #door6 years ago (edited)

I was referred by a co worker last summer so l signed up went downtown Minneapolis to get in their system. It was an easy seamless experience getting signed up. I was new to the Twin cities so it appealed to my love of restaurants and exploration.

You can schedule shiftsCC5171CE-E99C-4152-ABC3-9016A4652880.jpeg on the app starting at 30 minutes or drive all day if you want. The pay depends on the weather and how busy they are. I have seen bonuses as high as $6 extra dollars per delivery. During snow storms and big events like the super bowl l was making around $30 an hour.

My personal goal is to make $80 a week that’s roughly 8-10 deliveries a week. The smallest amount l made on a delivery was $6 the most close to $20. The shortest distance l had was 2 miles the longest around 12 miles. Some of the orders you pay in person with a credit card they give you and some you have to wait for at the restaurant. The support on the app is quick, responsive, and helpful. Customers rate you on the app based on if their orders are accurate and if they get them on time. I have received a few bad ratings for being late but the restaurants were busy or the weather was bad. The pay is weekly. I wouldn’t recommend quitting your job to do this but it’s a solid side hustle. Like my last Lyft driver told me the money isn’t great but l would be spending money if l wasn’t Lyfting today.

If you love restaurants and finding cool things in your city then l would recommend it. I have found some hidden gems and some amazing food.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Chad! I came by to give you a welcome and some support as I just noticed your ID in our Mastermind group. May want to edit the beginning of that 2nd paragraph, but it gave me a good laugh. :) Steem ON Brother!

Lol l don’t want to change that second paragraph l wrote this at work on my phone just to get a feel for it. Looking forward to following you guys and posting a bunch of content soon.

Hey Chad - welcome to steemit from Chiang Mai, Thailand. "a solid side hustle"... I like that... sounds good. Wishing you huge abundance with steemit... would enjoy some pics and your funny driving stories.

Yeah some pics will come, no real funny driving stories just a lot of free food lol. The stories will come when l start working for Lyft and Uber.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66121.65
ETH 3564.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14