Childhood dream - Doodle Doodledayeo round 13 challenge

in #doodleon7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

Today I come back with another illustration for @Opheliafu's Doodle Doodledayeo challenge.

This time, the words I had to use were dream, cyber, and sci-fi.

I tried to make things a little different and less literal than last time, so I imagined a sort of small story related to those words to create an illustration.



He, who dreamed of being a hero. A knight in shining armor, an envoy of justice. But justice is cold, it has no emotion and no heart. It is better suited for a machine, a mechanical being. He gave his heart away to make that future possible, to become the perfect hero.

Process

Sketch

I'm no expert when it comes to mechanical designs, so I decided to go for a knight inspired robot.


Lineart

For some reason this one took a while to make.


Base colors

I'm a sucker for purple hues and I could stick to a similar "dreamy" palette like the one I used last time. So the colors are similar.


Light + other small details

I love drawing armor because I like how it reflects light. It's a fun drawing exercise, and it's super important to color that reflection to achieve that "steel" look.


Shadows

Shadows help with giving illustrations a sense of depth. I really enjoy this part because the overall look ends up smoother.


Background

This time I went for a solid background with a gradient to represent the dream landscape.


Final adjustments

I adjusted a bit the colors and the light. And done!


Bonus GIF


Thanks for checking this out! I had to rush this to finish in time. I really wanted to post more content this week, but I have been somewhat busy. Next week I want to share with you guys a character I'm creating for a story, so I'm very excited to finish it as soon as possible.

Again, thanks a lot for the support, it means a lot to me.

Eden out!

Steem on!

Sort:  

Great post @edenci- fun to see the process of how you created this, thank you for joining in with this week's Doodle Doodledayeo challenge

Thank you! I love being part of the challenge. :)

Nice breakdown of your method. Thanks for sharing

My pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53