Do Cyborgs Read Sci-fi? - DoodleDoodledayeo Round 13

in #doodleon7 years ago

DoCyborgsReadSciFi.png

I wasn't planning to draw anything for @opheliafu's Doodle Doodledayeo Round 13 because the prompts Dream / Cyber / Sci-fi were leading me in a really abstract direction of trying to think about an AI's dreams in cyberspace, but I had no idea how I would represent that visually. Then I thought about the prompts a different way, rather than cyberspace Cyber could be cybernetic organisms (cyborgs). And there's a famous sci-fi novel with “Dream” right in the title: Philip K. Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, the inspiration for the movie Blade Runner. So I decided to draw a cyborg reading Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? while having some maintenance done on their arm, with the idea that it would be an interesting interplay to see a sci-fi (to us) character reading a paper book (which would be very retro in their world) about a speculative (to us) future. I wasn't sure about the geometry of the character pose so I snapped a selfie for reference:

CyborgReferenceFlippedAndCropped.JPG

Then I started drawing. Here's the raw scanned image:

DoCyborgsReadSciFi-OriginalScan.jpg

I was originally going to have blank, robotic eyes with the only organic element of the cyborg being the “brain-in-a-jar” thing going on with the head. But early on, when the only thing I had were the eye sockets, the book, and the top of the head, I decided to put organic eyeballs into the cyborg, a la RoboCop. Something about the eyes and the shape of the skull read feminine to me, so I tried to give her torso a somewhat feminine shape as well, even though I had originally intended to keep closer to my own photo reference. My concept was actually going to have two characters, the cyborg reading the book and a human technician leaning over the other arm and doing something to it, maybe installing a new hand or something. But that vision was farther out on the cartoony end of the spectrum, and I wasn't sure I could create a human character that was sytlistically close enough to the cyborg I had to be part of the same image, so the technician got replaced by an industrial robot (which may be happening to a lot of people in the not-too-distant future, even this story of my process has sci-fi parallels). I did some color adjustment and eraser touch-ups in GIMP:

DoCyborgsReadSciFi-CleanedUp.jpg

And then I imported it into Inkscape and did a bitmap trace. I removed a few stray extra speckles and saved this as my final image:

DoCyborgsReadSciFi.png

The image is a bit different than what I planned when I started, but the changes all came from following the art where it seemed to be taking me and I'm pretty satisfied with where I ended up.

Sort:  

aw man this just made me want cybernetic upgrades. Who needs to read when you can just download the information to your co-processor and retrieve it like memories with your brain. I have a dozen books around the house i need to read and not enough time lol. With regards to the concept it wouldn't surprise me if cyborgs occassionally turned off their augments like that just to enjoy something as a normal human. Turn off the harddrive storing all your additional skills and knowledge and then go and learn something for yourself with no recollection of how to do it like reading or painting/drawing. You might have advanced skillsets and ideas in the chip that take some of the exploration and fun out of it.

A very cool drawing, but equally an amazing post- i love the ideas behind this and so many interesting references. You bring so much to these challenges @danmaruschak, it is a pleasure to have you on board.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45