Doodle Contest #1: Flowers & Plants

in #doodle6 years ago

Hi There 😊

So when @coloringiship announced her Doodle contest, I knew I would take part. First because I had grown to like her as a person and had to support her inaugural Doodle Contest (I hope I scored some points for that....hahaha). Second, I love love love her doodles (if you haven’t seen it, go check it out). She was generous with the tips and tutorials and I felt confident I could take this on. And finally, hey we all doodle right? I've done my fair share sitting through long brain-storming sessions, board meetings and sometimes uninteresting workshops (imagine Finance for Non-Finance Managers .... hmmm that would explain why I'm nervous about the wallet!).

The theme was a good one to start with, Flowers & Plants. When I used to doodle to keep my mind from snoozing I’d doodle around my notes and ideas. So they’d be in corners, sometimes in between spaces and even around words or sentences that I wanted to work on after the meeting. So centred around that idea I started and this is the finished product. It’s not great but it’s a start.👇🏿
IMG_1486.jpg

Saturday night was spent in an Art Shop at the Curve. We got the suggested 0.3, 0.5 and I got the 1.0 cos I like it thick. I also got some colours to make it pretty.
Sunday after the chores I sat down to doodle, and the kids started popping up, asked me what I was doing and without an invitation, started rummaging through the colours, got themselves paper, and started doodling too. Some unplanned fun family time.

This is their interpretation of the theme.
IMG_1516.JPG
Now you know they didn’t get their artistic flare from me. haha.

So this is how I started. I wanted to embellish it and just like my meetings, the main topic always had the doodles around them. So to represent the flowers, I had some cut out lace petals and stuck them on the paper. Then I started to doodle around them.
The leaves I filled with squares and circles. I used crayons to fill in the green. It wasn’t looking anything like @coloringiship's doodles.... haha.
Then I filled up the sky with spirals. And circles in the spirals. It was ambitious as we had bought tickets to go watch Tomb Raider and I was still at the circles. So I quickly finished and continued after the movie.
I filled the field with some squiggly lines. Finding the brown a little drab, I added orange circles and I was done. It didn’t look anything like what I had in my head but @coloringiship did say not to be too hard on yourself. So for first attempt, I will pat myself on the back and look for the next one as should you. Doodling after all is therapeutic, had even been covered in a Ted Talk and it is supposed to be a tool for problem solving.

Hope you liked what you saw. 'Til next time, thank you for dropping by and Steem On!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

Sort:  

You say: check doodle out.. do you have a special link? I think the doodle I know is not the same you mean?

ah ok. I just know this doodle.com to meet with people..

Great ideas you have here, the finished doodle looked really nice!

Most welcome!

I love love love love the lace petals!!! That is so original and I love that the kids are doing it together with you! Thank you for participating!

Yay!! That to me is already a win! Thank you @coloringiship 😊

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64802.57
ETH 2975.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69