Poetry Slam Challenge 5 :_Ode To Marie-Thérèse Walter_

in #doodle8 years ago (edited)

Enchanted on canvas in cubes

He depicted his sweet divine muse

She gazed long in the mirror

Reflecting deep from within her

Belief her beauty it is but a ruse


I have loved Picasso's work since I was a child, especially the cubist period.

Picasso had a number of muses who inspired his work. I find myself now needing to seperate life from art. He was clearly an unconventional, eccentric, genius who produced masterpiece after masterpiece. I do wonder if his companions, his inspiration suffered for his art.

Marie-Thérèse had a child with Picasso, and he supported them both financially. He was married at the time, and maintained his relationship with Marie-Thérèse and her child separately from his family and public life.
Marie-Thérèse took her own life in her home in 1977.


Marie-Thérèse was only 17 when she met the much older artist Picasso.

She posed for him for many of his masterpieces, including Girl Before A Mirror.

In Girl Before A Mirror Picasso depicted Marie-Thérèse standing in front of a full length mirror. The brightly coloured shapely beauty is reflected back from the mirror, distorted and with a less vibrant pallet. The work is popularly interpreted as a representation of the beauty he saw in her, along side the negative self judgement she made of herself when looking in the mirror.


Source- Museum of Modern Art

P.S @prufarchy, I will try very hard to write a 2nd funny entry. Sorry for the heavy vibe, it's just what comes out.

LOVING THE SLAM!


Sort:  

Very well done, @girlbeforemirror! I love it :)

This is a beautiful poem and I really love your drawing.
I'm also a big cubist Picasso fan.
Thanks for telling the story of 'the girl before a mirror'.

Thanks for checking it out. Your installation/ sculpture today is very cool. Great job.

I will never be upset by an entry that goes above and beyond like this! These challenges are personal, and I love how you chose to frame this one. It was informational and beautiful!

Limericks are generally funny, but I love gravitas and this one was great :)

Thanks for always bringing your A game ;)

Thanks for your feedback.
I am loving these weekly poetry challenges.
Long live the Slam!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44