Found this Cryptic Message on Some Chinese Money Yesterday. I Dare Not Look More.

in #dont-clickit7 years ago

We all get money sometimes with messages written on them, or maybe a doodle. I got one with QR code stamped onto it and I can tell this isn't a fake bill. it is an .io so I was intrigued.

It has the word free which is pretty enticing and it's in English on Chinese money I want to find out where it leads. It's risky business clicking on things like this.

I figured I could scan the QR on my phone and see where it leads me since I'm using Blackberry DTek50 nothing happens on my phone with my expressed permission, sweet.

you can see the ink from the stamp bleed through to the opposite side of the bill.

Still I dared not who know what it's up to.

So I googled git.io and this

BUT I know better
I didn't click the link or scan it. But you can try and let me know.

This is a comparison of the bills, same year. If you could be so kind to translate that for us, just the meaning, I will send you 3 SBD.

want free stuff?

I dare you!!

Sort:  

I once found a U.S. dollar with the words "Where's George Been?" written on it with a website. The website was https://www.wheresgeorge.com/. They let you enter a dollar bills serial number and if people who find the bill log it into their website you can trace where your dollar traveled over time. My dollar had traveled from a nearby state around 5 hours away. Nothing exciting but a neat idea.

That's actually pretty cool.

I am from Hong Kong and I know how to read these simplified Chinese :) (Though in Hong Kong we use traditional Chinese but I am also able to understand the simplified Chinese)

Top left
The "Falun gong" is Buddhist and remember that "Falun gong" is great. When you face danger the "Falun gong" can save your life.

Comment: "Falun gong" is a Chinese spiritual practice. However the Communist Party does not allow other beliefs to challenge their ruling, so they started to ban "Falun gong" by sending people who practise "Falun gong" to jail and torture them. The Communist Party claims that it is a cult. Actually, the "Falun gong" people always come to Hong Kong and spread their message, because Hong Kong is not under the governance of China and we have the freedom of speech.
See this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falun_Gong

Bottom left
Today the weather is not good, please look at the "Nine Commentaries on the Communist Party". Quitting the communist party is a serious matter and not a joke, quit it to ensure safety.

Comment: Since the "Falun gong" is banned by China, the people who practise "Falun gong" hate the Communist Party very much. The "Nine Commentaries on the Communist Party" is a famous document which criticize the Communist Party.

Right hand side
Climb over the walls to see the world.

Comment: Internet censorship is very strict in the China. People can't even use Facebook or Google. So it provides some methods (probably VPN and Proxy) to break the wall.

Conclusion
The one who printed the words on the banknote is from "Falun gong" and he is against the Communist Party. He cannot spread the word easily in China, so he printed on this banknote to spread the message.

I also realized those "Falun Gon" wordings shortly after looking at the QR code. Then everything made sense to me and I knew that I don't need to click into the links to check anymore.

Thank so much for the translation. Huge help will send 3sbd promptly.

I did know that it is easier for people using traditional Chinese to understand simplified than it for the simplified to understand the traditional.

Oh yea the FG I have gotten other notes with stuff in Chinese about the FG my Chinese friends said to ignore it. This is a good way to spread a message 1CNY notes are very common. They are quite active in Canada.

Not many Chinese use VPN but most expats do. I asked around what the punishment is and no one knows because it seems no one has that they or we know has been punished for it. I think it also has a lot to do with how people use the VPN for. China has everyone's computer hacked just as good as the NSA has the USA's but here they aren't breaking any laws so it's easier for them to install spyware that can't be removed unless your computer wizard, not even reformatting fixes it. Been here 5 years no problems so I am completely over it. lol

Excellent reply.

You are welcome :) Glad that it helps
I guess you are currently using VPN to 'break the walls' right? ;)
Actually 'wall-breaking' is getting more and more common in China. Whenever we publish some anti-China comments on some Facebook pages (e.g. news fb page), there will be lots of people from China breaking the walls to comment and scold us madly hahaha (Just so you know many HK people hate Chinese people... complicated social and political issues)
Not sure why the Chinese Government does not block the 'wall-breaking' though. They already hacked into each one's computer already so it should be easy to ban VPN... can't really understand...

I'm well aware of HK feelings toward main lander's.

Photos on Steemit don't work in China but the rest of the platform does. That happened recently on the Steem dev's end, they made that choice. So need a VPN for that. And also to sign up to Steemit you need to pass a Google captcha which doesn't work in China either. But there are many Chinese here I am happy to say.

Yoyow is coming!!!!

oh ye the Google recaptcha can't work in China as well! Then perhaps many websites cannot function well too. Nowadays many website are using the recaptcha provided by Google.
If the Chinese start to use Steemit I am sure this will help to significantly boost our platform, as Chinese population is so huge!

Btw received 3sbd already :) Thanks so much!

Having visited the site on a computer I use for security work and is about to be wiped, it links to a git hub repositry. The readme says the following:

Mainland users do not need to over the wall,
Directly log in to the "gate" website,
You can share the world's best resources.
"Network" opened a new era of network perspective,
Leading the new era of network fashion.
"Door" for mobile phones, tablet, computer and so on
All network end users.
"Gate" no need to break through the wall to block the network,
Is a stable and long-term security website.
Just keep the URL in your phone's browser bookmark,
Or saved in the computer browser favorites,
You can always open the "door"
Share the world's resources.

It appears to be a github program designed to allow mainland chinese users to break free of the censorship of their internet. Basically a proxy intended to give people access to uncensored internet....

Probably really really illegal in china, but interesting.

Git.io is ok, its a repository for code. The actual program this particular github has developed though, I would have to look more into to tell you. I wouldn't download the program, because if it DOES do what it says, somone is a pretty skilled programmer to break out of the chinese internet censorship, and could hide other things in it. If it DOESNT.... well then there wouldn't be much point circulating the address unless it was a scam.

Oh cool. Thats interesting thanks for checking it out. When i get home from work i'll send ya some sbd. And maybe i will click on it.

thanks for sharing

Pretty cool find. All the time I've been here I've never seen one, but I have seen the Falun Gong displays in HK.

Personally I think the FG may be a CIA op to undermine Communist authority, like Tianenmen Sq.

haha. that would be epic!

It is from "Fanglun Gong". Nothing special. In Chinese mainland, "Falun Gong" is regarded as "heresay/evil" by Communist party-the only governing party in China.
However, the founder of "Falun Gong" tells people that communism is evil.
Yeah, we must use "VPN" to open facebook, youtube, etc. A closed country!

gina!!!! add me to your wechat please. I tried using the ID you left in the other message but it didn't work.

My WeChat ID is --- AndrewinDalian

You will like the Steemit group and the Crypto group got some real pro's in there to learn and share ideas with.

Yeah. I have added you in wechat.

I'm not looking. Typing with my eyes closed! haha

Now I really would like to know where this link lead us to! C'on, you have a blackberry? :P

Its the worlds first Blackberry Android hybrid. Uses the latest Android os but with BB' latest security. All the permissions people agree to when using APPs BB gets around them. So i can use apps and not give up my personal info. Plus some other cool functions

Nice! But my "c'on ..." Was mented to be like: do it, their can't go anything wrong ;-) I actually like the new blackberry!

Oh i see. Yea. I should have.

you found antigov propaganda, that is too cool I would frame it.

Oh maybe I should.

I once saved every 1CNY note i got for 3 months. I had 673 of them. such a fat wad of 1's lol. so pimpin'. I saw many with writing on them but never looked deeper. I spent them all now. I will get more. This is becoming interesting.

apparently from what i could get from duck duck go it's a tracker - so you scan the note, spend it, the next person scans the note and so on, then someone can 'follow the money' ;)

Huh. That's cool too. I do wonder where my money goes and come from. Nice its getting easier.

i've seen US $ with a website stamped on it so you could login and see where it's been ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62