Top 10 Reported Domain Name Sales For August 14th, 2018

in #domains6 years ago

thumbnail22.jpg

Do people still park their domains in hopes of earning passive income? This is something I did early on when i started domaining. It was the first thing that I would do after acquiring a domain, park it and hope for money. There are stories of the old days when domain parking was legit and people made a living off of it. That was of course only really achievable with great domain names. Single keyword .com domains. When I started, I was parking everything else because acquiring a single word .com was too big of a stretch for me financially. I parked a lot of single word .co domains along with 2 and 3 word .coms.

Now, I realized after a almost 2 years (20 months) that it was never going to be much and I worried about the loss of sales that I could be experiencing because visitors were seeing a parked page with ads rather than a for sale page. Sure, I had a banner that said the domain was for sale, but it was small and you couldn't control the look of it, or make it more prominent. Eventually, I switched to sales landing pages and I can honestly say that I sell more domain names now than my first 2 years and at higher prices.

I thought it would be interesting to go back and look at how much money I actually made from parking domains. Did I make the right choice?

The total amount of money that I made parking was $86.16. Divide that by 20 months and you see that I was making about $4.31 per month average. Not terrible, but it wasn't even paying for a single domain registration per month. Factor in the potential of even one lost sale in that whole 20 month span and it's a huge loss. My average sale price during that time was $1,165 dollars per domain. It's pretty easy to see that the risk of losing even 1 sale in that time period was too great to continue chasing the parking money.

Anyway, that's my personal experience with domain parking. Here's the top 10 highest priced domain sales that have been reported or recorded from yesterday with data provided by namebio.com


The List

  1. merchant.org - $5,100 - Flippa
  2. qualifications.com - $5,001 - GoDaddy
  3. sexedlibrary.org - $4,600 - NameJet
  4. yaex.com - $3,750 - Sedo
  5. themagicshow.com - $2,500 - Sedo
  6. trackbikes.com - $2,390 - NameJet
  7. mellowed.com - $2,000 - Flippa
  8. perfumesuite.com - $1,888 - BuyDomains
  9. playfulspirit.com - $1,830 - BuyDomains
  10. easylifeapp.com - $1,625 - GoDaddy

These top 10 sales have a combined total of $30,684 dollars giving the top 10 an average price of $3,068 dollars.


Domains with History

The only domain with a sales history was number 1 on the list (merchant.org) with a recorded sales history at namebio. The domain last sold this year at Namejet on June 18th, 2018. It sold for $1,557 making yesterday's flip a gain of $3,543 dollars in just 2 months!


About the Names

Today's list breaks down to 8 .com domains and 2 .org domains. My favorite on the list has got to be number 1 (merchant.org). It's just such a strong word and .org is still a viable, trusted and accepted option for a domain. It was a nice flip for the seller at flippa but I could see this name selling again for more. To me it's got 5 figure potential.


Well, that concludes this top 10 reported domain sales list.
If you found value from this, please consider leaving a comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79