Jeff Berwick's Personal Side - Emancipated Human


I approached Jeff ( @dollarvigilante )and I asked him to join me in a personal interview. I wanted for people to see the side of him I get to see every day, the big heart, fun, personable, and not just his business side, he said: "let's give it a whirl." And after the interview he said it was one of the funnest interview's he's been on. It is about two years old but it is still very relevant.

Topics include: the Anarchapulco event, freedom in US vs rest of the world, homeschooling, unschooling, disciplining, peaceful parenting, the learning process, the spritual journey, Jeff the Person, the Galts Gulch Chile.

Sort:  

I remember this one. It was great to see it again. The Thailand thing was nuts.
When we started homeschooling we were really intimidated. Folks gave us a hard time about it and we really didn't have a plan other than to get them out of the state indoctrination camps.
The boys were probably about 6 and 8 when I got the first solid confirmation. It was a simple thing. We were walking through a mall and a kid just pitched a fit on his parents right out in the open. My youngest son's eyes got as big as saucers. He just stared, looked at me, looked at the family, looked at me. Then it struck me, this wasn't normal to him. He simply was exposed to such idiocy. Score!!
The freedom of getting the kids out of the state's hands is so rewarding and refreshing. We never looked back. Unfortunately, our philosophy on discipline didn't mature until they were teenagers. It's all a process. Our philosophy on teaching matured quickly though, as we realized that no matter what you're doing, you're teaching. So everything is a teaching opportunity.
They're raising their own families now, and aren't too messed up from our years of protecting them from the state. :)

Wow man sad to see this is not getting more support as it is a really great show. Thanks for sharing it and also for all you do as whatever you do seems to be honest and in the best interest of the whole.
My favorite part of the whole show was "Forcing them to be nice does not make them nice". This is a classic example highlighting the major failure of most parents. There is SO much to get into there but it appears you and Jeff both comprehend this ant that is amazing!
A couple other questions I have are.
Are you still doing Anarchist Espanol? Still an editor of Dollar Vigalante Espanol?
Thanks Brother and I will continue to follow your posts~
Bless~*~

thank you! i appreciate your support, quinn!

Hurray for unschooling/homeschooling and peaceful parenting. :) This was a fun interview, thanks for sharing. I knew about Jeff's boating adventure, but I had forgotten about living out of a backpack.

Forcing people to learn... they will never learn.

This is so true!

Great interview Luis, I was cracking up!

Oh wow!
You have had a lot of successful posts but this one could just be the new top one!
Excited to see the feedback on it.
Keep up the great work!

I'll see you in Mexico next year!

Cool interview!

I love Jeff so much! At Acapulco, he was reserved and that made me even more curious about him. He's doing great things for the world. :)

I've got this unfinished Jeff story from just before the first Anarchapulco... Still dunno if I should... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72