Sort:  

Yes, it is fun. You run into a better class of people when dogs are involved.

I have always (kind of) joked that you could not trust a person who didn't like dogs.

I agree on the dogs as a filter! When we were raising puppies, the people had to pass inspection by Mom and Dad, before they could buy a puppy. I told them that up front, and I refused several sales, based on dog acceptance.

:)

Excellent, and good for you! My dogs have always been a better judge of basic character than I have. If they turn someone down, I know I can't trust the the person, either.

BTW, I'm a Ham, too! First licensed in 1962, now AE4TK.

They are a great filter! When I adopted out Lola, I told the Lady that if Lola liked her she had a dog. She thought I was kidding, but I was serious. Well Lola loved them both, and found her forever home. She moved from a Princess, to a Queen that day.

They needed a therapy dog to help her husband refocus and reduce pain medicine (they had removed a lung) so he could heal. He has by the way, so they both benefited!

I am a ham since the 1980's: ka5jet. Need to reup my license right now, LOL! 73's

:)

I love rescued dog stories with happy endings. There are so many hurt, lonely little souls out there I have to work at not thinking about it.

We have placed several dozen from home so far, including the one I named Lucky. I got him from a kennel, and he was free, because on the paperwork, he had been euthanized already! I had rescued two from that shelter before, and the attendant was helping me out. So, I rescued a dead dog, LOL!

He got a nice forever home with a couple of kids. When they showed up, he was Thrilled to meet the kids, so they were going to be partners in crime for sure, ROFLOL!

:D

Wonderful of you to do that Toby.

I get so attached to them I can't pass them on. For me, it's like giving away a child. Heck, I can't even go on vacations because I refuse to put mine in a kennel or add tho their separation anxiety. I don't mind at all because I would be suffering from it too, wondering if they were okay.

That is really worth writing about! You should be proud of so many rescues. "Toby 'Schindler's' List of Rescues."

They are all so special, that it is wonderful to be able to help them! I have met a lot of good dogs that way, and it is fun to watch them take over at their new homes!

:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60986.74
ETH 2636.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63