You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Since your dog can't speak(in words at least), I am here to speak for them with an important PSA!

in #dogsofsteemit5 years ago

What a fantastic post 😊

Over the years I have found myself rescuing/adopting/caring for various animals that have either been mistreated or are elderly and needing palliative type care and I have often been accused of "spoiling" or "fussing" or simply just "going overboard" when it comes to the level of care I provide. But I'm simply considering how I would like to be treated if it were me in these situations instead of an animal, be it a dog, cat, horse or even a guinea pig. I love when I see others who are taking just as much care and consideration of their pets needs as I would, and not just basic needs such as food and water, because emotional wellbeing is just as important for an animal as it is for humans.

This is a fantastic alternative to those cones and I'm sure if more people knew about them they would definitely be agreeable. It's such a shame though that there are still so many vets that stick to their "old school" ways and tell you that this is your only option.

Thanks for sharing some great content.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This is so true, I believe the verb you are looking for that people say we are doing is "anthropomorphizing" which is to attribute human characteristics, emotional states, or behavior to an object or animal. But it really isn't at all, they are experiencing life in much the same ways we are, they get hot, cold, sad , happy, angry(bad dog!), excited, etc so I find it literally unethical to not at least take into consideration of your animals mental state . I too have been accused of spoiling my pups, but people can say what they want, they will never understand the bond and fulfillment that comes from a good healthy relationship with your dog. Thanks for a great comment and you are not alone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47