Sort:  

A truly great and inspirational post @joanstewart. Love the way you love your dogs and the values you get to share from your relationship with them.

The first dog that owned my wife and me as a couple, was named 'Jabu'. Short for Jabulani meaning rejoice or celebrate. He always knew where he wanted to be and had his eye fixed on that goal. He wanted to be with us, touching us by lying on our feet or against us. When he had to be outside, you would find him at a window staring at where he wanted to be.

Love these little guys, dynamite in a medium sized package, had friends with a couple of 'pitties' also fondly called "pig dogs". Neighbour has one named Woody, he climbs the wall to come visit (his mom taught him that 3 years ago), sits under the window to the room I work from and "talks...."

Arrived yesterday morning to see what was happening on our side of the wall and chased the mongoose away, I went to let him know he is a visitor, as are the mongoose, not to chase them.... Don't think he grasped my meaning and got slobbered for my efforts.

Thanks for visiting and have a wonderful cold day up on the highveld.

Congratulations @joanstewart ! You received a 1% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

that is a very inspiring ode to the pups. I just got a doberman puppy and he is currently teething on everything!! I think i am going to start taking him out more often so he can get acquainted with the world.

Getting dogs familiar in the area they live makes them more confident, yikes that teething period... be sure to buy good chewing toys. If you are able, we found hanging an old tire by rope in a tree gives them a great toy to play with when you hands can no longer take the needle sharp teeth.

Thanks for comment and enjoy your new little companion @masterroshi

Thanks for the advice, I think we will try the tire trick when he gets a little bigger. right now we have a bunch of ropes and rubber toys. He still seems to prefer chewing on flowers lol

Thanks for the advice, I think we will try the tire trick when he gets a little bigger. right now we have a bunch of ropes and rubber toys. He still seems to prefer chewing on flowers lol

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-04T14:01:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 309.10/200.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 76
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=joanstewart
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=today-i-learned-from-my-dogs


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Sage advice and something to ponder.

I used to have a cat who showed up out of the blue one night as I sat on my deck looking at the stars and listening to the ocean waves crash. She scared the crap out of me by rubbing up against my legs and was very insistent on getting some love.

I was just sitting there thinking about signs that are sent to us and there she was. I was going through a rough time of losing loved ones, a few within a year, and the most recent was quite shocking.

Needless to say but I fed her and all of a sudden I was a cat dad and she gave me a distraction when it was needed.

What a wonderful way to be adopted (you got adopted not the cat) @the-witty-waiter

Cats have an uncanny way of knowing and befriending people, very seldom do we go away from home, staying somewhere when a cat will arrive to stay with us for the week.

The only reason I don't have a cat is due to very busy road close by, that is how my kitten was killed when I lived at home with my parents, I promised myself never to have a cat if there is too much traffic in the area.

We have many wild cats living in the bush along the beaches here, people feed them and take care as best they can.

Lovely dogs you do have here...

They were wonderful, @joanstewart!
With only 9 and 7 years they left you way too early. But from what I can see on the photos these years were wonderful for all of you and that's the most important thing!

Great post, beautiful photo - I'll check the youtube when I'm at home.
Thanks for sharing!

Steem on!!!

Five out of the six dogs I have had over the past 35 years have succumbed to cancer, it has been most upsetting losing them too young. This breed make twelve to fourteen years, yes it breaks your heart each time @pundito

love your dog!

Loved all 6 over the years @ziggypepper best companions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52