Max: my walking buddy

20160421_181227 (2).jpg

Max is my walking buddy. He's currently out of commission for long walks as he sprained the ligaments in his right shoulder. The most we do is a half mile a day at a slow pace. Ligaments take a long time to heal much longer than it takes for a broken bone to knit. This has been hard on me because well I hate seeing my buddy hurting and I have become used to our 4 miles a day walks.

He's a very very active dog normally and four miles is only enough to take the edge off his energy. Where I live there are strict leash laws. A dog must always be on a leash out in public unless it is a designated dog park allowing for off leash. You should see him when I reach for the leash. There is prancing, happy panting, circling, and tail wagging so hard one day I'm sure he will achieve lift off.

Unless he is having a potty emergency he has learned that he needs to stop at the top of the steps to allow me to close the door behind me. Plus in winter time I prefer to find out what the condition of said steps are BEFORE I set foot on them. There have already been two instances involving those steps, ice, a potty desperate dog, and haste I will post in a later blog.

The beginning of the walk involves rushing down to the end of our lawn that he has smelled several times a day everyday he has lived with me. Dogs take in a lot of information with their noses so I guess another dog peeing on the lawn is like reading a bulletin board for him and he is just keeping up with the news. News that he needs to "read" on every lamppost, fire hydrant, and fence along the way often adding his own bit of "news" at major doggy sign posts.

Our route takes us down some scenic areas and around a storm water retention pond where I watched the ducks, turtles, and fish swimming today (sans Max, sorry boy it was too far for you to go yet). We vary it at times so he can take in the scents of other streets. Walking a dog is so very important for their health. Not only the physical exercise they get but for their mental health as well. Getting the chance to smell new things and just get out and see new things makes for a happier dog.

Walking Max can be a challenge too. He is what is known as a hyper-reactive dog. Seeing another dog seems to put his brain into a frenzy. He is by no means aggressive but his actions tend to scare people off. He sees a dog and begins leaping at them hair raised on his back an almost insane look in his eyes. If you look at his other end the tail is going mad with wagging. We have worked hard to reduce this reaction and now dogs may pass at a distance of 20 feet before he reacts. Sigh, it's only taken me 6 years. Before if a dog passed half a mile away he reacted. Maybe when he is old and senile we can stay on the same sidewalk as another dog.

Another thing about Max. He is quite manipulative. You notice those big brown eyes in his photo? He uses them on me. He knows where I keep his doggy treats and as we pass he gives me this woebegone expression of "I've been a good boy haven't I?" I've had to harden my heart against this as he needs to lose weight (who doesn't?). Yeah, I still slip him a bit of a biscuit when he has resisted leaping at another dog but look at those eyes!

I'm looking forward to when he has recovered and we can once again explore more areas of our city. Til then may all your walks be long and exciting.

@supernovastaffy

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-12T03:04:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Rest is the best thing for him now, much as he hates it

I think he realizes that he needs time to heal. He usually wants to go at a fast trot but has been content (mostly) with a slow walk. If he is not doing better in a week he is back to the vets for an xray to see if he has arthritis in that shoulder or (my heart quakes) the beginnings of bone cancer.

I hope not!

yeah... those brown eyes speak volumes don't they?
Right now, I'm getting the, "I'm Starving eyes from my buddy..." kinda like always...

Dogs may not have the option of vocal communication in words but they use their eyes and body to tell us what they want.

oh, I'm sure every owner and their human have their own secret language...

Hello @itallstarted!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 22 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

I think it's safe to say any successful dog has mastered this manipulative technique! hahah my dog is also a master at this. It's just so hard to say no those beautiful eyes!

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78