You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tao of Sam

in #dogsofsteemit5 years ago (edited)

If it's a yeast infection (I've had that in Golden Retrievers before ... sometimes called "Swimmers' Ear" -- because the ear doesn't drain out properly ... and retrievers, you know!!) ---> anyway ... a mixture of 50% water / 50% vinegar -- several times a day -- seemed to help a lot. (Stand back, because he'll shake it all over once you let go of him.) I offer that FWIW. It's the first thing I'd try. YMMV. <-- Fair warning.

Sort:  

Apple cider vinegar would be my first choice, and it will be after his ear heals. He now has open sores in there and I won't put him through that pain.

In his case, it is not water in the ear for sure. He is a desert dog through and through. He'll go in the river most of the time, but not without me going first....

I thought it was odd, too ---> because as you know, we also live in the desert. But one of our adoptees had a "problem ear" that would get swollen, heavy -- and give off a very distinctive smell. The water / vinegar route seemed harmless enough -- and at least a possibility, so I gave that a go before doing anything more exotic -- and although she hated the "treatment" (even though I'd warm the solution a little before dropping it in), she was cooperative -- as if she knew it would help. And it did. (Except for the shaking after, it was a good solution -- no pun intended -- all around.) Your ACV may also work as soon as his ear is healed enough to use it.

I agree with @enchanted spirit. My Mom worked for an ear, nose, and throat Dr for over 30 years and our dog would get an ear infection and that is what we did too. Also like she said our dog really seemed to love it when we did it. soothing to their ear.

sending lots of love and healing and everyone gets ill. It's no one's fault. HUGS

Sam's ear has improved, it's not so inflamed or hot. I promised him that I'll put vinegar to it on Wednesday. I really hate to put it in his ear with the sores.

Thanks for the love and the good advice. Sam appreciates it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32