Friday, 27.07.2018 - a summary of a day I will never forget. R.I.P. buddy

in #dogsofsteemit6 years ago (edited)

Only 3.5 years ago we had a car trip to Germany and picked up Snoop

Snoop and me had a lot of fun together. From simply lying in the sun to fun-fighting and walking together.

sa0jxzzvnq.jpg

fe1w118gk3.jpg

mbpgjdx3fn.jpg

It's now a little more than one week ago that my life changed drastically

Already on 26.07.2018, I could feel there is something going on. I had no idea what it could be.
My humans were different. @pundito was coming home from work very early. They were crying from time to time and spent a lot of time with my big brother Snoop.
Normally, when they do that I try to get between them to get some attention, too. But I didn't do it that time because I really knew something was wrong here.

The next day - Friday, the 27th of July - @pundito did not go to work at all. That was good news because we could do our morning walk altogether. That was the day before Snoop's 11th birthday.

But there were still the bad vibes I could feel

While walking to our destination we met an old lady who loves Snoop. She started to pet Snoop and began to cry.
At our destination, I was hunting for some mice and I saw another lady walking to my humans and Snoop asking them if everything is OK.
When she left, she was crying, too.

Snoop on our last walk

You can see the pain in his stressed face even we walked for only 200 meters.

rmk79r3i6p.jpg
7zg9pwk0ya.jpg

Back at home after our walk, there was silence

No radio, no talk, just silence. All were sitting in the living room, looking at Snoop.

About 01:30 PM @pundito went outside and came back about 15 minutes later with very good smelling things in his hands.
A hamburger and a sausage. Disappointed I went to my place again and lay down - Snoop and I would never get anything of these goodies.

But wait ... our humans do not eat meat at all!

Guess what! They did not eat it but let it cool down and gave them in small pieces to Snoop and me!!!
Snoop got much more than I got. But I was OK with it. We finally were allowed to eat this delicious meat.

After a while, it looked like Snoop had some problems after eating the meat. He could hardly walk anymore and after lying down he almost did not move anymore.
I heard my humans talking about relaxing pills that seem to start working.
Relaxing pills for Snoop?!? "He is the most relaxed dog on earth" I thought by myself.
If you show him a ball, he will not react to it. If you throw something, he will not move at all - except it's eatable.

At 16:30 we had a visitor

I knew this woman. We go to her when we are sick. It was the first time she came to us.
She also sat down and looked at Snoop. After some minutes she fetched a surgical needle out her bag and went to Snoop.
Now I knew why Snoop needed relaxing pills. When Snoop saw a surgical needle he always tried to get away. He was very afraid of them.

After she gave him the injection it took about 10 to 15 minutes until Snoop was falling asleep deeply.
She then took another surgical needle and gave Snoop another injected. Good for Snoop he was sleeping.

Our humans were crying and the lady listened to Snoop's heart. When she stood up again she said Snoop was dead.
I was shocked and could not move but when she left I went to Snoop and check for myself.
Snoop was lying there as if he was sleeping but did not react when I nudged his nose.

Snoop lay there about one hour before another person came to us

@psionic-tremors took me with here into another room and when we returned to the living room Snoop was gone.
We prepared to get into the car and drove for a while. When we stepped out of the car we went into a big building but I did not like it there. I started to shiver and my humans tried to calm me down.
The place did not feel and smell OK.

We arrived in a room and there was Snoop again

Lying on a nice table so that we all could say farewell and wish him a good trip over the rainbow bridge.
This was the most terrible day in my life. My big brother left us.

The next days I still looked for him everywhere and waited for him on places where he always lay down.

I miss him a lot. He was my buddy 24/7. We did so many nice and funny things together.

Luckily @psionic-tremors made a farewell song and video for Snoop that will stay forever in her farewell post

The last photo of Snoop

If you look at it, you see he knows what is going on

rbhevamufm.jpg

Now you are in this pyramid with a candle in front of it in our living room.

sjbt5d1d4p.jpg

Snoop, we will never forget you. You were my best buddy and stay in our hearts and thoughts forever.

Your grieving Marley 🐕

Sort:  

RIP Snoop

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thanks a lot for the support @thedailysneek and @anouk.nox!

You're welcome !

I can not read this post without crying. Poor Marley, what a drama for all of you. Missing Snoop is very hard, but try to understand that he is in a better place now ... And know that your humans did the best for Snoop. Big hug for all of you!

Thanks, @hetty-rowan!
I know not long ago you were in a similar situation when Lex had to go.
Big hugs, Marley 🐕

I am so sorry for your loss, Marley. I lost my best buddy, my protector and my companion, Caesar, about a month ago. It is so hard to let go. But I couldn't see him suffer so. We know they are in a better place now, you know ~ all dogs go to heaven.

Thanks for stopping by and your comment @cecicastor. You know how hard it is.
Caesar and Snoop are now in a better place without the daily pain.
Take care, Marley 🐕

Oh Marley, we feel you. We still miss our Lexxieboy very much. We play, eat, sleep, walk, cuddle ... everything we did when Lex was still with us. But with little thing we do, we still miss him. And we know, our boss and Lady-boss do miss him too ... Paws for you, from us!

Thanks, @shepherd-stories!
You all know how that feels when suddenly the buddy is gone forever.
Paws for you too!
Your Marley 🐕

Hello @dog-marley!

I am so sorry that you have had to go through this. I know Snoop was an amazing dog. He is no longer in pain now though. Sending so much love to Marley and the family.

Stay strong for Marley and the family.

Thank you so much @supernovastaffy.
He indeed was an amazing dog and we miss him a lot.
The warm words like yours help us a lot to get through this time.

Take care, Marley 🐕

I'm so sorry. This is so heartbreaking. I'm dreading the day my old man dog can't go on. Poor guy, but what a blessing for a dog to be loved so well.

Thank you so much for your kind words @ginnyannette.
I hope for you and your old man dog that there is a lot of time left before he can't go on anymore.
Your Marley 🐕

Very touching post @dog-marley, your friend will be missed for sure. I hope you and your "humans" will give each other some extra love now you are all trying to process the loss of Snoop. Take care!

Thanks, @anouk.nox
We support each other and our daily walks help us a lot.
Your Marley 🐕

Thank you for sharing this sad and heart felt story with us Marley. It moved us to feel compassion, and makes us remember our loyal companions who we have left on the farm where they are diligently doing their duty daily.

God Bless.

Thank you for stopping by and your kind words @ecoinstant.
Snoop will never be forgotten.

God bless you, Marley 🐕

Marley, I will have to introduce you to my dogs, I have a feeling they will be thrilled to meet the dogs of steemit. This is an aspect to the blockchain I had never considered!

I would be happy to meet your dogs @ecoinstant.
BTW: #thedogsofsteemit is an initiative by @supernovastaffy. He introduced me to it after some of my posts were online.

Your Marley 🐕

Fantastic! I have some great dogs, as soon as I get some pictures together I will introduce you!

Checking out that blog now, thanks for the recommendation Marley!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks for your support @c-squared!
I really appreciate that.

Your Marley 🐕

hola dog-marley.

When I was little How about.? I am already a girl about 7 years old.

You are really cute but I'm not in the mood of flirting at the moment.
Thanks for stopping by!
Your Marley 🐕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32