My Snuggly Buddies

in #dogsofsteemit6 years ago (edited)

I had to snap this shot of my boys sharing the front seat on the way home from... somewhere... I can't remember! They both love to sit in the front seat and will peacefully share it which I think is too adorable.

IMAG2751.jpg

About the "Do Not Pet" label: it's sewn onto Helo's harness, and, yes, really ruins the photo haha. He wears it because he has been known to bite strangers who try to pet him when we are out walking. Sometimes they sneak up on me and I don't have the opportunity to say "hey don't pet him he's scared!" I found that people just don't listen, or sneak up on us, and just don't understand how to approach a strange dog. It doesn't occur to people that a dog may not want to be pet. Understandably... most are very happy to have the attention. Roadie loves it. Helo hates it, and will nip at any hand that reaches for him. He is a sweet and loving dog with people who he knows, but I think that maybe he takes his roll as our "protector" very seriously when we're out in public and will not tolerate people getting in his space.

For some reason there's a type of person out there who thinks that because they like dogs ("I'm a dog person! Don't worry, they can sense that. He won't bite me") dogs will like them too. When I say, "don't pet him, he's been known to nip strangers," then comes the "dogs love me!" line, then the teeth. Listen to the dog's owner: they know what's best, for the most part.

Here's a tip for approaching strange dogs who you want to say hello to:

ALWAYS ask the owner's permission first. Let the dog sniff your hand. Reach for the shoulder/back area, NOT THE HEAD. This is a far less threatening way of petting a dog. Smile and say nice things to them, too! Even Helo can often handle people who follow these guidelines... it makes you far less threatening to the dog.

Do you like to pet dogs you meet on the street? Have you ever been told not to?

Thanks for reading! Have an awesome day!

Sort:  

Therapy dogs, who bring healing to individuals and families by visiting hospitals schools or retirement homes, differ from service dogs, who assist individuals who have disabilities.

I'm a huge fan on the "DO NOT PET" tag. I've started turning into a game.. People see the bright red tag.. I said "there's a good chance he'll bite your fingers if you reach for him"... Then they still do it, and I let out a BIG OLD laugh while I pull Helo back from chomping.

Yeah I'm finding most people respect it... they assume he's a service dog or a recently rescued/scared dog. I just let them believe whatever they want if it means they stay away!

Congratulations @caitycat! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for the helpful tips on how to approach a dog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89