You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tao of Sam

in #dogsofsteemit5 years ago

Good luck with that! I hope he gets feeling better. Jovi gets cuts and stuff in her ears quite frequently. We used to take her in every time, then we got smart and just bought some of the meds and antiseptic wash. Much cheaper than taking her in and having them do the same thing. @mrsbozz also does a pretty good job of keeping her ears clean. They say that dogs have an L shaped canal so you can dig in there deep than you think without hurting them. It took us a couple of years to realize that Jovi had a grain allergy and now we buy the expensive food, but it has made a huge difference with her health...

Sort:  

He'll get better. I think he feels better right now after the oil treatment and when the dog food store opens we'll get some 'directed treatment' stuff.

I keep his ears clean. In fact that's why I first noticed yesterday, Sunday is ear clean day. I had a Springer that would get cheat grass spurs in his ears and they'd cause all kinds of problems. That was about 35 years ago and I've been keeping dogs ears cleaned ever since. :)

Thanks. And good to know that OTC stuff works. I'm on it!

cheat grass spurs

Is that the same as foxtails?
foxtails
picture

My vets had a colleague who named his yacht "Foxtail" -- because he said that's how he could afford it.

(Looked up cheat grass ---> it's not the same but similar. We have a lot of foxtails and other stickery stuff here.)

It's not quite the same. But the stickers act about the same way. I would trim the hair between his toes because he'd get them stuck in and they'd infect. And the ears, of course.

Oh wow, that is awesome. We just kind of learned as we were going because it was getting ridiculous taking her in every time she had an ear infection. We just took her in for all of her shots and her flea/tick meds the other day. It's a good thing she is cute because $270 was a bit more than I had been planning to spend at the Vet. I didn't even spend that much to rescue her from the shelter!

I've also found it ironic how we spend gobs of $$$ on vets, toys, food etc., when there is no way on earth we'd spend a fraction of that to get a pet in the first place. Such are the ways of love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32