Gibson Is Home And Recovering Well

in #dogs6 years ago (edited)

Gibson got home alright yesterday.

If you missed what's been going on with him, check out my last two posts about him:

https://steemit.com/@stephen.king989/gibson-my-dog-is-going-under-the-knife-tomorrow-wish-him-luck-with-an-upvote

https://steemit.com/@stephen.king989/gibson-is-awake-and-doing-great-after-surgery

He's been pretty groggy, but he'll be back to his normal self in no time. He's got to take it easy for a few weeks, which sucks because the weather is finally getting nice. Right now it's alright because he's clearly hurting a bit. In a few days, when he starts to feel better, it's going to be much harder to keep him from wanting to play outside with the other dogs.

At least he doesn't have to wear a cone.

AE306513-146E-49AD-AB0F-058D89BA056A.jpeg

Last night was a little rough because it seemed like he was in a bit of uncomfortable pain. He kept waking me up to let him outside, then he'd be pacing around the house, and then trying to sleep on the bed but constantly shifting position. Hopefully tonight will be a little better.

spacer.png

The vet gave us the stones that they ended up taking out of him. No wonder he was having so much trouble. There are some big stones.

8CEF3E74-E3ED-43EF-820A-1CEC577A2065.jpeg

47F2EA66-605D-4989-8AF2-1E551AF1FF1E.jpeg

Even if it was the smallest one that was creating the blockage, that would be some painful. I don't know how dogs manage to tolerate so much pain without showing any symptoms. If it was me, I'd probably be screaming like a little baby.

Third Eye Spacer.png

The vet bill ended up being more than they said, which doesn't surprise me. Actually, it could have been even worse but they gave us a lot of freebies. The 2 nights stay, x-ray, and a few other smaller charges were waived for us. That was pretty good of the vet to do that. The bill still ended up being over $1600.

Oh well, I'm just glad he's home and doing alright.

Sort:  

$1600 is not too bad actually for a whole surgery. Hope the little (big) one recovers good, really looks like a sweetheart!

You're right, it's not that bad considering what they did. And he's sure not little; they weighed him before surgery and he's 96 lbs. Although, he still thinks he's a lap dog.

Hehehe those are the best. I bet you get very friendly wake up calls from this one every now and then as well from this heavy weight ball of fur!

That's a lot of stones. I know how painful these are having had a kidney stone in my own body for 6 months. Just one, not a load of them. Must have been torturous for him.

You have an amazing pup my friend!
Keep us posted on how he’s doing 👍

Dogs are the best friends of human!
They care there owners more then ever

I really like pets. They are just like our family. They always support us as they can.

May it is not in mode or not happy or any fever.
But it is looking pretty.

excellent contribution friend, I hope you can visit my blog and support me greetings.

Sorry, I don't support spammers, spammer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74