My Puppy Turned One Yesterday, Here's what I learned about Dogs in the Last Year.

in #dogs6 years ago

Hi Everyone! Meet Charlie, my one year old Golden Doodle puppy. I have learned a lot about raising a dog that I thought I would share with those first time dog owners out there on steemit!
27781777_10103609517120879_54836214_n.jpg

  • Food makes a difference! Charlie is very picky and enjoys eating the cheapest dog food. I am assuming it is because they put additives that make the food taste better. I am trying to give him food without grain. We recently switched to a brand called Zignature which has a limited ingredient formula. I am also trying to make it a priority to incorporate more leafy greens into Charlie's diet.
  • Try to introduce your puppy to as many different experiences and people as possible. I grew up with two aggressive dogs that became more anti social as they got older. Because of them, I found myself scared to introduce Charlie to strangers because I was afraid he would bite them but I realize now that socialization is so important.
  • Structure is good. Giving your dogs boundaries does not make you a terrible person! Dogs want to make you happy, so letting them know what they can and cannot do will help them do that.
  • Get your dogs spayed or neutered. I feel guilty not adopting a dog but it wasn't an option for us. If or when we get another dog, I will definitely be adopting. We made sure to neuter Charlie at 7 months. Also, check out your local Humane Society to see if they do discounts for sterilization services. My vet was going to charge us 400 dollars, we ended up paying 120 for the neutering and a microchip. Plus, the Humane Society does so many of these surgeries a day that they are pro at it!
  • Dogs can sense your anxiety and react to it. Try to remain calm in stressful situations and your dog will mirror your energy. I am an anxiety filled person and I sometimes have to remind myself that I need to be an example for Charlie.
  • My last tip for those thinking about getting a dog is to pick a breed of dog that matches your energy level! I have had pretty lazy dogs in the past. Charlie is extremely energetic and wants to be challenged, physically and mentally all day long! If you are a low energy person, get a low energy dog!
    27868427_10103609517545029_3337296993239171072_n.gif

Do you have any tips or tricks for new dog owners? Do you have any new ideas to keep an energetic dog busy? I would love to hear from you! :)

-Sarah

Sort:  

I had the same dog with the same name!

Really? I’d love to see pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85