Absence Profound

in #dogs7 years ago (edited)

One online dictionary defines the word “bereave” this way: “be deprived of a loved one through a profound absence, especially due to the loved one’s death.”

Profound absence. Before this week, I’m not sure that phrase would have resonated with me so deeply.

One can say what they will about emotional attachment to the family dog, but Anatole France said it best: “Until one has loved an animal, part of one’s soul remains unawakened.” If you don’t understand what this means, then you haven’t experienced it. Bonding with an animal changes something inside us on the level of our biochemistry. Don’t believe that? Take a good look at studies performed by major medical organizations, like the ones discussed by Harvard Health Publishing. If having contact with pets affects us so remarkably, it makes sense that losing them would affect us as well.

Monday afternoon, my husband and I said goodbye to Hollywood, the precious long-coated chihuahua who’d been part of our lives for the better part of two decades. Hollywood was eighteen, and his body finally failed him. Strong until the end, his heart kept him alive longer than he likely should have been. By the time our veterinarian helped us make the decision to end his suffering, he could no longer stand, see, or eat. He went peacefully with loved ones surrounding him, and I had my hand on his head when his lion’s heart stopped beating.

In the aftermath, my husband and I felt some physical and emotional shockwaves that neither of us expected. We’ve lost people close to us before, and lost other pets. But we’ve never been affected by any loss quite this way. It’s beyond sadness. Beyond the ache in our hearts. There have been physical and mental ramifications that sent me deep into the Web looking for answers. Why am I so tired? Seems like all I can do is sleep. Why is my husband wracked with guilt, even though he gave Hollywood the very best of everything for all those years? Why are we both unable to think clearly, or focus on a task for more than minutes at a time? Is this normal, or are we both showing signs of deeper issues?

Sporadic reading on the subject (since I couldn’t concentrate on more than a few lines of text at a time) assured me that our responses to this loss are not abnormal. Everything from a sense of surreal disconnect to overwhelming fatigue are well-documented and predictable ways that humans experience grief. Weeping and despair are only a small part of it. I found myself unable to cry at all most of the time. I simply felt shut down, out of sorts. I couldn’t carry on normal conversation. I could listen, and I could understand. But formulating a proper response and putting it into actual words is something that, for a little while, may be difficult for me. Apparently the part of my brain responsible for communication is lending its resources to the emotion centers of my brain. This causes a disruption of service. For a wordsmith like me, this is alarming. But I also read in almost every report, article, and study I found on grief that suppressing the symptoms can make them manifest in more serious ways. In other words, the more you push it all down and avoid feeling the unpleasant emotions, the longer they will control your life.

So, I’ll give myself time to be inefficient in my thinking, unreliable with decision-making, and unproductive in performance. While I’ve always been in favor of bereavement leave in the workplace, now I understand why it’s necessary. Grieving people simply don’t function normally. Not because they’re sad, but because their energy metabolism has been diverted and brain chemistry altered. They need to physically heal.

Writing this post has been therapeutic for me. Not because I needed to vent, or crave sympathy. It’s a much more practical exercise. I’m a writer, yet the flow of words from my mind to the page was seriously compromised by Hollywood’s death. Getting those channels open again may take some time, but at least it’s started. I don’t want to form neural pathways that may not be as efficient as the ones that got blasted by grief. So, word by word, I’ll deal with this loss and move forward. I just ask that everyone please remember that I’m struggling, and my behavior in the chats may be affected for a while to come.

R.I.P., little Hollywood. Your body was small, but your heart could eclipse the sun.





Sort:  

be kind to yourself @rhondak .. anyone who thinks 'get over it, it was just a pet' has either no feeling or has never had a ball of fur insinuate itself into the fabric of life.

Hollywood was every bit part of the fabric of your life as your own breathing. You feel like you've had a part of yourself rent from you, because you have.

The wound will heal, the pain will fade, but the memories of Hollywood will burn bright within you. He's there in spirit, sensing your distress and laying his head on you to let you know he loves you no matter what.

Thank you for being vulnerable and sharing this. A few years ago my 16 year old German Shepherd, Zelda, had to be euthanized after cancer had pushed her to the end of the line. She had been with me her whole life and was my friend to sit beside and meditate with through many difficult times in my life, some of which might have been unbearable without her. I didn't expect that I would cry because I'd never cried over anyone's death before but when the vet said it was time to say goodbye, I cried so hard I couldn't see and hugged her until well after she was already gone. I kept on crying until my face hurt. If it gets brought up and I talk about it in any depth, I still cry. Couldn't help but cry a little while I was writing just now. Years later it still feels like a void in my heart that I've managed to board over and move on, but you can never fill it in.

Yes, the tears are definitely part of it, and I can't imagine trying to stop them once they start. I remember hearing about Zelda. Dogs like her keep on being a part of our lives long after they're gone.

The reason you have no words right now is simple. Grief does not fit into them. Hugs

I was far more affected by the loss of our family Collie (who also live 18 years) than any other loss I have experienced. I was 3 when she entered our family (rescue dog), so she was my equal to me. The loss is real. I understand. Moving on takes as long as it takes.

Very beautiful photo of Hollywood at the end of the post.

I am so sorry about Hollywood. Take all the time you need, The Block will be there when you are ready.

This article made me cry. HUGS I'm so sorry for your loss. Please give my sympathy to your husband as well. They aren't "just dogs." They're family.

Upvoting this post felt wrong somehow. But it's just so well written and I know every penny will help you help dogs in need.

This, yes. I'm so sorry for your loss, Rhonda. Take your time, we understand.

Indeed they are family. We had Hollywood the same amount of years it takes for a child to become an adult. Ours lives won't be the same without him.

This subject could be discussed on a much deeper level. No matter what, the relationship between humans and animals is among most amazing miracles in our being. I'm really sorry for your loss @rhondak. So many memories, so many genuine moments become part of our history. However, I still believe these losses come at the right moment to help us for something we are still not aware of.

Nobody really understands until they have to go through this themselves. I don't have children, but I have pets that are my children, and I had to put one to sleep after him being my child for 16 years. It's still the saddest thing that's ever happened in my life, and I still feel the emotion years later, but I'm so very thankful for the years I had with him.

So, it doesn't really help when people say 'they understand', but at least you know what you're feeling is normal for someone who has loved and lost a cherished family member.

Yes. Definitely the saddest thing. I can't even adequately explain why that is so. Maybe their innocence? I think we feel their love on a subliminal level, and when it's gone (although it's not really gone, just changes form) we feel the loss intensely.

:( Reading this made me feel your pain. I have been there for a few friends when their dogs passed, but never my own. My sweet blue heeler Misty is still here. I looked at her while reading this and felt so much love. The cycle of life is real, but so challenging to consider one day she will not be here. Your amazing Rhonda. Thank you for writing this during such a ruff time.

Awww! Misty the Heeler. Those are smart, smart, smart dogs. We've had them in rescue, and I've become a fan of the breed.

Thank you for your kind words. The support from our Steemit family has really helped get me through this.

No one is ever truly gone. The pain will get replaced with memories of all the happy moments you've had together, I am sure you know that. My condolences.

Very sorry to hear that. A dog is man's best friend and you made his life as great as he made yours.

He definitely lived a "no-regrets" life. That's one thing I'm so grateful to have had the opportunity to give him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83