Jules - The Friendliest Hypochondriac Dog

in #dogs7 years ago

On one of my walks in the park when the weather was warm I stopped to play with a cute poodle. His owner, an old man with a black cap was resting on a bench.

Jules brought me his squeaky orange ball and was waiting for me to pick it up and throw it.

IMG_3689.JPG

As it was the first time meeting this dog I was a bit reluctant to take the ball out of his mouth. The owner intervened and told Jules to put the ball down. Then he told me to wait for him to push it with his nose towards me.

"That's the signal that he's ready" he said. "And you can pick it up and throw it away for him".

So I did what he said. And yes, Jules ran after the ball and he brought it back to me.

So I started playing with the dog, petting him and throwing the ball a few times. I also took some pics while chatting with the old man.

Another tiny dog appeared and Jules started playing with him:

IMG_3691.JPG

At a certain moment I noticed Jules was running while keeping his left back leg in the air, as if it was hurting or something.

I asked the owner what happened, is Jules in pain or something?

To my worried question he answered:

"This, young lady, it's called finicality" (He said "izmeneală" in Romanian, I didn't find a good translation for it).

The puzzled look on my face made him continue his story.

"I took him to the veterinary, I spent a lot of money on tests and controls and they showed nothing. He's just pretending, he's perfectly healthy."

I laughed hearing his story but I was also relived that the cute poodle is OK and maybe just a little bit hypochondriac. :)

The owner than called him and proudly asked him to sit, turn and jump a few times to show me how well trained he is. At first Jules didn't obey his commands and he had to repeat a few times. But he eventually executed the orders.

Here they are in the middle of the "show":
IMG_3690.JPG

I left wishing them both a good day and good health and continued my walk amused by the little story of Jules. I took a last pic of the two old friends hoping I will meet them again.

IMG_3693.JPG

Namaste


All pics taken with a Canon EOS 450D.


Hi, I'm Raluca. Freelance copywriter, currently going through a Yoga Teacher Training. I have an educational background in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you can follow me @raluca.
Raluca round crop  copy.png

Sort:  

weather was warm, its amazing,

its such a friendly dog

That's one smart dog! Very good actor haha

Yeap, he is. I had no idea dogs have such talents :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49