Cost Breakdown of Homemade Dog Jerky Treats (chicken)

in #dogs7 years ago

These numbers will vary based on you chicken prices. I also did not include the cost of the electricity or the dehydrator in my numbers.

26176355_10208576473529215_647179621_n.jpg

I bought discounted Tyson chicken but I will provide the discounted and full price numbers. Keep in mind this is conventionally raised chicken so I will be comparing the cost of making these treats to the cheapest chicken jerky for dogs I can find online. A sad fact of the pet food industry is that most of it is not made with human grade meats. Even Blue Buffalo doesn’t say their chicken jerky treats are made from human grade meat nor do they mention it being antibiotic free. I would go as far as to argue that my homemade chicken treats are as good quality as blue buffalo treats even using conventional meat.

That being said if you can afford it absolutely buy (or produce) higher quality meats for your treats! We hope to do this in the future.

Discounted Chicken Price: .91/lb or .056/oz.
Full Price Chicken: $1.83/lb or .11/oz.

After dehydrating I ended up with 18.85 oz of chicken jerky. Now let’s compare that to a bag of treats from the store. The cheapest chicken jerky treats I found was Milo's Kitchen. As mentioned in the previous post about homemade treats I would avoid this brand. However, for cost comparison it will work. One 15 oz bag costs $9.09 on amazon or .60/oz. This is .54 cents more than the homemade chicken treats. Even at full price the homemade treats are .49 cents cheaper per ounce! Considering we have 3 dogs we are training I imagine that adds up to a whole lot of saving. And in reality the dehydrator was going to be purchased at some point for our own food so that is not a cost for this project.

Recent Articles

Our Christmas

Follow Us:

Facebook
Pinterest
Youtube
Instagram

DQmVqcRwTgh8SPRAAvw4XFqdJFQjv9gjkKbQwjHgMcUih8S_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

@frugallady this ones for you! 😁

Very cool!
I dont have a dehydrator so I buy treats like this online from other people. Someday maybe Ill get a dehydrator and make my own... :)

I bought a pretty cheap one that is working well so far

What a sweet face!!! I'll bet your furbaby loves these treats!

All of them do!

I've been contemplating doing this, but being a pet-sitter, I go through a substantial amount. Currently, I'm using Colorado Naturals Chicken Jerky as there are no other ingredients - just chicken. However, as you point out, the grade of the meat can be questionable. Home-made would at least be one step closer to the real deal.

I make them 3 breasts at a time and they last for quite a while even with 3 dogs. I think I make them every couple of weeks so far

Interesting... that's more than I would have guessed. Thanks for the info!

Do you prep the chicken in anyway before putting it in the dehydrator?

How long does it take?

nope just slice into pieces. The dehydrator says 6-8 hours but it takes me closer to 8

Really! @pennsif is raising pups too at the moment. Perhaps he should consider the same.

my dogs love them! Even my completely non food motivated dog will do pretty much anything for a chicken treat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52