Where are you Luna?

in #dogs7 years ago (edited)

Exploring our new cottage that we bought in the heart of the countryside was exciting. It is the first property I have bought on my own. We had not yet moved in and I was measuring for curtains, deciding what colours to paint the rooms and assessing all the repairs and work that needed to be done.

The cottage, although bijou needed a lot of repairs and love to make it a home. It is a peaceful cottage exuding calm. I let Luna investigate the rooms by herself whilst I listed the work.

She followed me closely, padding behind me, sniffing every corner, peering under furniture. The staircase is open and Luna was a little nervous of the space between each step and so didn't follow me upstairs. After whining her protest at being left behind she padded off.

So many hidden storage areas, so many ideas...I was so engrossed in my discoveries that I didn't realise I had been upstairs for over 30 minutes. Downstairs everything was silent. I called to Luna and began searching the rooms - Luna was nowhere to be seen. I called out again...nothing. I began to panic. Where was she? Maybe somehow she had opened a door, or I had left the front door ajar? I ran outside calling and calling her...no sign of her. I scoured my field at the back of my cottage and the wild overgrown "gardens"....still no Luna anywhere. I even ran a short way up the narrow lane. Nothing.

My heart was racing and my mouth felt dry. The cottage is quite remote, and I had lost my best friend on our first day here. I ran back to the cottage, by now I was shaking, I felt so empty as I frantically searched the cottage again, calling. As I stood in the kìchen I noticed a slight movement, a shadow through the frosted glass of the door to the utility room - I called out and cautiously opened the door....there, sitting in a cupboard with the door half closed was Luna with a "I see you don't like it when I disappear too" look on her sweet face.
image-0-02-04-583c2ce9ae6a80ca5c7196ca22c4fe03232dbf9e9324508898e7d65036f08b11-V.jpg
What a little minx! All I could do was hug and love her precious wriggling happy body. Was she really teaching me a lesson?
image-0-02-04-724024629db4309f705cf917fdd550851bbb4d69bcca9643dc113029930d36cc-V.jpg

Sort:  

This is so awesome to have a house and dream of what to do in it. But I can say Luna almost killed you when disappearing for some moments. Thanks God all is fine and Luna is was playing hide-and-seek! Loved the story of you, Luna and the cottage! =)

Thank you. I am a very laid back chilled person. I live as a solitary close to nature and spirituality. But that day, I completely panicked and lost my cool.
We become very attached to our animal brothers and sisters.

I understand you @katdvine. Living this way makes us comprehend better the nature around us and animals become our loyal friends.

It is such a horrible feeling when your little fur baby goes missing. It has happened a few times to us. Luckily we found them safe and well after some frantic searching and no harm was done. Big relief!

It really was. It's amazing how attached and close we become to our furbabies.
I just couldn't quite get over how she had seemed to deliberately do this...like she wanted me to know how she felt when I left her on her own.
She has done similar things since that have made me wonder at her intelligence.

What a beauty!!! I couldn't imagine life without a dog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59