The Forbidden Dogs of Denmark... call for artists to participate !

in #dogs7 years ago (edited)

I find it utterly horrifying that In Denmark we have a law The Dog Act which banned 13 Dog Breeds, and I would like to talk a bit about this dog law, I also want to support the Fair Dog Association, that is fighting to get the law changed.

As an artist I have thought long and hard of ways that I might be able to help, and I came up with the idea to make a book, this book will have various goals

  1. Educate people about the breeds
  2. Serve as a loving memory for some of the wonderful dogs that have fallen victim to this ignorant law
  3. The proceeds will go to the Association Fair Dog, to hopefully give them more financial means to fight the law

The book will have a Foreword from the Association, then it will be divided into 13 chapters one for each Breed, each chapter will start with a page spread from an expert breeder, explaining about the breed and with photo's of the breed.
Then the memorial section will begin, here I will get photo's and stories from people who's dogs have fallen victim of the law.. This is where artists like myself come in, in this section I would like to add drawn portraits (from photoreferences provided by owners) of the victims. ( I could draw all the portraits myself, but I am thinking that it would be more interesting if a lot of different artists got involved each drawing 1 portrait) There will of course be full credit to each participating artist, as the proceeds go to help Fair Dog in their fight for the Dogs rights, the participation and the scanned portrait will be a donation to the fight from the artist.

pit-bull-2047469_1920.jpg

In Denmark, it is illegal to own, breed, or import the following breeds and/or cross-breeds of dogs:
1.Pit Bull Terrier
2.Tosa Inu (Japanese Fighting Dog)
3.American Staffordshire Terrier
4.Fila Brasileiro
5.Dogo Argentino
6.American Bulldog
7.Boerboel (South African Mastiff)
8.Turkish Kangal
9.Central Asian Ovtcharka
10.Caucasian Ovtcharka
11.South Russian Ovtcharka
12.Tornjak
13.Sarplaninac

Right now in Denmark there is a case of Giuseppe Perna, an Italian man, that came here to work, he brought his dog to Denmark with him, his dog had a passport and the breed Dogo Argentino was clearly stated in the dogs paperwork !!! he was allowed entry with his dog to Denmark, he was unaware of the law and noone told him that the breed was forbidden here, recently the police have taken his dog from him and will euthanize the dog ! He asks to be allowed to take his dog with him back to Italy, where no dogs are forbidden !
Here is a video with him and his precious dog !

There is a particition begging the danish government to save the dog and allow it to return to Italy you can sign the particion here https://www.skrivunder.net/lad_a-iceberg_leve_og_rejse_retur_til_italien

aice.jpg

This is a video from the association Fair Dog

So you may ask yourself why I write this...when usually I post my art ... Well besides being an artist, I am also an opinionated Bitch with a bleeding heart for animals, and I do have other interests than art, so you are likely to see different types of posts from me ... hehe ... I will be following up on The Forbidden Dogs of Denmark.

If your heart also bleeds for the animals be sure to comment, vote and resteem... hopefully this will help getting more people involed with the fight against Dog Racism and hopefully many more will sign the partition to let A-Iceberg go back to Italy with his owner Giuseppe Perna And hopefully some of my fellow artists will be interested in participating in the portrait creation for the book to support The Fair Dog Association in their fight against this ignorant, unfair law.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52