Never put your dogs in a boarding kennel....ever!

in #dogs6 years ago

I've been working at a dog training school for the past couple weeks. I'v known the owner of the company for a few years. I've always had tremendous respect for him for a long time thought they were the best in the world when it comes to dog training.

His company specializes in training dogs for police work. Well I came to the US to gain some work experience and learn how they do things. So far I am not too impressed. As always, what you see on Facebook is a lie and very, very far from he truth.

The training is not that great. I was quite upset by a few things I saw in the pet obedience department. But what upset me most was the condition of the dogs...and the conditions they are kept in. Filthy does not even begin to describe it. The dogs don't get out enough in my opinion and sometimes spend days in either a kennel or a crate. They have to live for extended periods in their own filth and also have to eat in it. They are more often than not covered in shit or piss and many have skin diseases.

There was a time when I wanted to send my dog here for training. Knowing what I know now I will NEVER in a million years send him here...not even for a day. I don't care how good the training is.

The first priority should always be the care of the dogs, their health and well being. If you don't have the staff to tend to all the dogs properly, then you should not have so many dogs in your kennels. But as with everything it's about profits. The dogs are just products.

I can not do anything for these animals and it breaks my heart. But to those who end up reading this post; just don't put your dogs in kennels. Take them with you or get a pet sitter. If you saw the conditions they are forced to live in "behind the scenes" you will be shocked that businesses like these are even allowed to operate.

Sort:  

were is such business taking place?

In North Carolina. Unfortunately I can't name the exact town or the name of the business. Just don't put your dogs in kennels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66