Computer Failures, lost Art, too much To-Doing

in #dogs5 years ago

A watercolour study made for the second time today.

dec11thumbnail.jpg

The sketch, also the second today.
dec11pug.jpg

Today's post shall be short due to the sort of day I have had.

Today I was off with my friends and housemates. We had some to-doing to get to and as usual, what is meant to be a few tasks quickly done, become more tasks taking far more time than planned. And for the SECOND time, my friend and I have been trying to get a normal monthly mobile plan here in the UK. He is now offically a UK citizen again, so using the umbrella of his citizenship we were meant to get our phones sorted.

He had to wait a month to get his UK bank account set up (something I am NOT allowed to have, far too long a story to go into right now) Yet, today, after waiting 45 minutes, we get things set up and then my friend forgot his pin number to his new account. So, nothing accomplished. Oh well, off I was from them to my cafe to try and get some work done.

I get settled into my little corner and begin a sketch. I like it. It's going to be another in my Dogs and their English animal friends, another pug and hedgehog. I liked the composition, using images as cues to draw up my idea. I even was able to get some digital watercolour in before having to catch my bus home.

A pot of tea made and settled into my room to get to work.

The computer will not turn on. Then I drop it on my tile floored room. Now a corner of the screen is cracked, not so bad that it WOULD interfere IF I could get the blasted thing to turn on.

Again, at the end of another day without much to show for it.

I was frustrated ALL my work from today as well as any other work stored on that computer is now GONE unless I can get it working again.

Thus, today's shared sketch and watercolour is a second go.

But, I had to get it sort of out there to make the tail end of the day feel as if it was NOT a waste.

I have SO much to do.

Including getting more things up for #makersplace and making a post about that as they are about to launch out of beta and contacted me to add more things.

It is SO hard to get work done whilst being still very much in limbo...I cannot complain and this is not a complainging post, but rather a chance to redeem the day and say to the great digital world and the God's of creativity and time management:

I shall overcome and get into a working routine.

Well, I hope all of your days were better met than mine. All we can do is try and make up for lost time and to turn a day around from bad to good in any way we can.

I am also behind in visiting all of you and for that I am truly sorry.

Until tomorrow, when I can start a new, have a lovely evening. At least I can think that in America it's only 1:15 in the afternoon, so it can feel less like I'm at the tail end of the day.

Sort:  

Awww sorry to hear that it's not a good day :(. And computer problem is always a pain because there are so much activities that depend on computer these days. I hope tomorrow will be a much better day for you.
                       
The doggo is very adorable and has a very cute expression ^^.

Well @scrawly, at least I got it to work again, thank goodness. And it was just luck.
Today was better and it was sunny and bright, so that helps too, thanks.

If the hard disk isn't fried, your work will still be on it, even when the computer won't start. Somebody near you will probably know how to copy it elsewhere. I could do it, but my arms don't reach.

I hope so. I know @winstonalden could do it, but he's 3000 miles across the Atlantic, so I will have to find a local computer repair shop... So frustrating as it is my 'out and about' computer. Also, If only you had longer arms ;)

You can complain if you like, because it's not all you do, you try to fix or make the best of the situation :) Ergh computer dramas, hope you've got backups or can get the stuff off just in case! And that the phone shenanigans are sorted out soon. And lookit that sketchy ahhhhhh so cute XD

Well, @ryivhnn it just started back up again today, so I guess the Computer Gods were in a better mood today ;)

Huzzah! Take backups while you can XD

Much sympathy and empathy to you!

Yes to what @ocrdu says! There are even cases that the drive can be placed into so that the drive becomes an external drive instead of an internal drive.

I've done this numerous times with drives from dead computers.

Your sketch is quite cute.

I'm looking forward to your post on makersplace.

I actually got it working today, I couldn't believe it, it was just dumb luck.

I need to get my makersplace thing done soon! I need more time in my days.

LoL I so understand! At this point, I want more time in my days and, having passed 60, I want more days, too!

Congratulations on your working laptop! You know, my daughter once had a laptop that would occasionally refuse to work until after the battery went dead and it was recharged. Could this be your blight?

At any point, I hope it continues to work for you.

It could very well be, I plugged it in last night and this morning just gave it another go and ta-dah! It worked! Oh well, things are not built to last now a days.

I think that "built to last" thing went out of vogue around the time of The Great Wall of China ;-)

It should be fixable, at least recovering the things on the harddisk. That said computer problems is terrible. I am becoming more and more happy with all the low tech solutions. Digital paint and drawing is still the fastest and most fitting for what I (what we) use it for. But now we made the @olde-steemshop I might start to make some more paper things that I can sell.

All the best from Copenhagen.

Unfortunately, @katharsisdrill as @winstonalden mentioned, it is a sort of sealed up sort of computer as it is a surface 3 tablet so there isn't really anyway to open it. THANK god the ole' wait it out and turn it off and on a million times finally worked...for now!

Oh, a tablet! Yes, that is another matter. Now, this minute, I have decided to make a backup of my computer!

Is that the Microsoft Surface, then? Sorry to say that getting the hard drive out of that is not going to be easy, and will probably involve destroying the screen completely. The drive in those machine is a special, small "m-sata" drive you'll need an adapter for to plug in elsewhere. This is why I'm always so dead-set against glued-together, all-in-one technology.

Don't you save most of your work on that to a usb stick? Or the micro-sd card inserted into the back?

Sorry you had a rough day. If you DO get it to turn back on, first thing copy anything you want to keep to a thumb drive or some other external disk.

Well the second-draft painting is adorable anyway!

So sorry to hear you had such a rotten day. I hate that when the tools refuse to work. Who wants to futz with the computer, it should just 'work', and allow us our artistic bent. Yikes, we are behold'n to them.
On a more positive note, from being a delinquent on here, and writing to you three days late, I'm glad it finally decided to work. As W.A. says, make sure to back it up, blah blah blah. (I'm sure THAT'S what you want to hear about now.)
It' interesting it is so hard to get a bank account there. When I was in NZ, it was easy, but that was way before all the nuttiness of the world and all the multiple systems in place to try to prevent nuttiness. So maybe that is why.

I love your pug and small hedgehog. I'm pretty sure hedgehog's are the coolest animal on our sphere. So wacky and fun. On that same NZ trip, one used to come visit me in my tent vestibule every morning, in my favorite town, Dunedin, as I ate ginger snaps, drank water and read my book, in the early AM before arising from my little rip-stop abode. What fun! He/she had quite the penchant for dates. (the edible type, not the "would you like to go to a show with me Saturday" type.

As for tenting, I learned quickly while traveling that staying in a tent was 1/2 the price of a backpacker, and twice as quiet (if that is such a thing...kind of a double negative). Either way, it was divine. And Ms Hedgehog only added to the bliss in my early A.M.'s.
Well, I hope your computer problems are all figured out, and life is going along better these days. Miss chatting with you, but I should be on here more these days. I'm home and on my spiff keyboard. Cheerio(s) my friend, dd
(I thought I sent this, evidently, I did not...large sigh. I guess late is better than never )

Hello @donnadavisart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

So sorry to hear you had such a rotten day. I hate that when the tools refuse to work. Who wants to futz with the computer, it should just 'work', and allow us our artistic bent. Yikes, we are behold'n to them.
On a more positive note, from being a delinquent on here, and writing to you three days late, I'm glad it finally decided to work. As W.A. says, make sure to back it up, blah blah blah. (I'm sure THAT'S what you want to hear about now.)
It' interesting it is so hard to get a bank account there. When I was in NZ, it was easy, but that was way before all the nuttiness of the world and all the multiple systems in place to try to prevent nuttiness. So maybe that is why.

I love your pug and small hedgehog. I'm pretty sure hedgehog's are the coolest animal on our sphere. So wacky and fun. On that same NZ trip, one used to come visit me in my tent vestibule every morning, in my favorite town, Dunedin, as I ate ginger snaps, drank water and read my book, in the early AM before arising from my little rip-stop abode. What fun! He/she had quite the penchant for dates. As for tenting, I learned quickly that staying in a tent was 1/2 the price of a backpacker, and twice as quiet (if that is such a thing...kind of a double negative). Either way, it was divine. And Ms Hedgehog only added to the bliss.
Well, I hope your computer problems are all figured out, and life is going along better these days. Miss chatting with you, but I should be on here more now these days. I'm home and on my spiff keyboard. Cheerio(s) my friend, dd

Some days are just .... very difficult and very trying and I hope those days will be soon behind you.... Such a frustrating problem with the computers!

The drawing is very adorable, I love the doggo and his lil friend :) What a lovely pair <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16