Instead of sitting in a cage my friend had the holiday of his life at my place 🐕

in #dogs6 years ago (edited)

Today I'm telling you about my buddy Robby and how it happened that he saw the beach and the sea for the first time in his life. He is an awesome dog - I really like him. But let's start at the beginning.
When we moved to the seaside of the Netherlands, we met an old lady with her dog every morning. I liked them both instantly but I was not allowed to jump up to the lady because she is not so good at walking anymore. And that's the reason she only walks on the same place every day with her dog, where the dogs can go without a leash.
One day she talked to my human and told her that she got cancer and need to go to the hospital to remove the uterus. My human asked what she is planning to do with Robby and she said that he will go to a dog pension where he has to sit in a cage most of the time - but only for 5 days as she will be in hospital only for 5 days.
My human said to her - no way ...you are not 20 anymore and it will be impossible for you to handle the dog after surgery and most important, it is very stressful for an animal to be caged. So my human said that we will keep Robby as long as she needs to recover. The lady was very happy about that and almost cried.
A few days later Robby came to our home. He felt good and we played a lot. DSC_0212.JPG

The next day my human said - now let's show Robby a little bit more of the world - as he only knows this one field and the street he is living in. We went to the beach. I can tell you, Robby was overwhelmed by the view over the beach. Look at the picture - you can see clearly on his face that he is absolutely unsure what he is seeing and where all this water comes from 🤣.

DSC_0234.JPG

He even couldn't play with me - he had to sit down and process this impression. That was kind of funny.

DSC_0239.JPG

We really had a good time - he stayed almost a month at our home and now we are friends for life.
The old lady is still very grateful and brings always fresh vegetables from her own garden. I don't know why, but my humans are so excited to get that green rabbit food 😉...I wouldn't eat that.
I think it was very good that we met Robby and his human. Not only did he have a good place to live in the difficult times, but his human also learned from my human to be a little kinder to Robby. Unfortunately, older people often still have these old patterns in mind, how to deal with dogs --- NOT.

I hope you enjoyed meeting my friend and his story 😃🐕....yours truly Marley🐕

Sort:  

As always ... good to see you having fun. And what a social dog you are Marley! Your humans can be very proud of you. And what a good thing that the human of Robby has learned some things ... it's always nice to see people change their behaviour towards dogs. After all, you dogs, are mens best friends.

Hello @hetty-rowan,
thanks for stopping by!
During the years I learned who I can trust and be best friends with. After gotten bitten three times I am more skeptical and it takes some time before the ice melts.

CU around, Marley 🐕


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much @c-squared!!!
I'm very honored to be chosen by you :)

Your Marley 🐕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37