CHILLI, THE DOG THAT SAVED MY DAUGHTER

in #dogs6 years ago

When we purchased a house in Durban there was one key ingredient missing, a guard dog. Most of the houses are security conscious and the bare necessities today require you at least have an electric fence and a burglar alarm. I went a little overboard but when you are talking about your family's safety nothing is too much.

I put up a star shaped sensor which covered every perimeter of the house. These sensors would be triggered if the beams were broken and set the alarm off. I had the exterior wall raised and put a 6 strand electric fence on top. This is over and above burglar guards and security gates. One thing was missing though, I had to find a good guard dog. I love big dogs so was a good enough reason to me to go and find one.

The family and i eventually found two dogs from a breeder one a Boerbull bitch and the other a cross Boerbull/Bullmastiff bitch. They were rather small as puppies but soon grew into a decent size. The cross however was the biggest and when weighed at the vet topped 90 kg's. Pure muscle and teeth, and she had a loving temperament to go along with the package. When I played with her it would sometimes get out of hand and knew the red mist had set in and had to calm her down quickly.

We moved to Johannesburg and the first house had a big wall but no electric fence. As a rental we asked the landlord to put one up and we didn't mind paying extra rent to cover the costs. They refused and had to live with it but had already started looking for somewhere more secure. Chilli was strong and had buckled the security bars on the exterior gate by the front door. There was a thunder storm with lightning and she didn't want to be outside, so she made it inside her way. I tried to bend the bars back but couldn't, they eventually had to be cut and welded straight.

On one morning whilst at work ,there was an attempted armed robbery at the house and Chilli prevented anyone from entering the kitchen door. My daughter was at home and Chilli wouldn't let them near the door, eventually jumping up onto the kitchen counter to try and get at the criminals outside through the window. They left and I would hate to know what could have happened without our super pooch. They were eventually caught when they rolled their car in the driveway at another house in the street. It was a steep drive way as all the houses were on the side of a hill.

We never had any other issues as word spreads around the neighborhood with your hired help talking to each other. A good source for criminal networks targeting houses. We eventually moved to a more secure house that turned out to be another nightmare ,which I have written about previously.

Unfortunately Chilli has since passed and have replaced her with a male Bull mastiff called Chester, like her is a softy but has his protective side. I haven't come across another breed who are so loving but ferocious as well. I owe Chilli so much for that day I won't change and most likely will always have a Mastiff in my life.

Sort:  

Hi @cryptoandcoffee! What a lovely name for a dog Chilli. My friend had a Bull mastiff and indeed they seem like a very loving dogs. If I ever get a dog, it probably will be a good sized dog like a German Shepherd or Caucasian shepherd :) Somehow smaller breeds seem like a noise/trouble makers hehe.

Hello m31. Like you I am not a fan of a yapper. Big dogs normally make less noise and only bark when they need to.

It’s amazing how dog are around children. Did they call the massifs the “nanny dog “ in the states? Back in the 19th century they used to leave the massifs with the kids to guard them . They know the kids the little ones of the pack. We have a rotty cross and the worry is when our daughter gets old and makes friends he might be over protective

Hi blanchy. It depends what the Rotty is crossed with. Normally a pure bred will be good with kids but depends on the kid and the dog lol. My Mastiff now whines when he hears my grand son crying. They are very protective and caring.

Crossed with a red setter! He has a real good nature . Too good . Would never make a guard dog

howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! oh man, 90 Kgs! holy moly, she could have easily knocked someone down that's for sure, great story, love those dogs!

I used to play rough games with her and you could see her change from playing to aggressive mode. I used to push my luck as I could snap her out of it. She could easily cause some serious damage and my fear was the jaws locking.

haha! hey cryptoandcoffee, you used to play until she finally got pissed off at you and then you had to back off! very smart of you. how did you snap her out of it? Jack gets the same way and it takes while to calm him down then.

Hi @janton. You have to show you are dominant and the game is over. I used to raise my voice so she knew. My new one Chester has been to puppy school and knows my commands.

sir cryptoandcofee..yes that's what I suspected but I wasn't completely sure so thank for that explanation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98