For the love of a dog's paws.

in #dogs7 years ago (edited)

I love the smell of a dog's paws and don't think I am the only one. It's a unique yeasty smell that is hard to describe. There is an awesome paragraph in the book The English Patient that describes it poetically:

image

“Her father had taught her about hands. About a dog’s paws. Whenever her father was alone with a dog in the house he would lean over and smell the skin at the base of its paw. This, he would say, as if coming away from a brandy snifter, is the greatest smell in the world!

image

A bouquet! Great rumours of travel! She would pretend disgust, but the dog’s paw was a wonder: the smell of it never suggested dirt.

image

It’s a cathedral! her father had said, so-and-so’s garden, that field of grasses, a walk through cyclamen—a concentration of hints of all the paths the animal had taken during the day.”

The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje from Chapter 1, Hana, the English patient's nurse, remembers her father who has died fighting in the war

image

I hope you enjoy my musings and my cute doggy paws :) It was hard to get them to stand still! XOXO Lee

Sort:  

I'm with you....I love smelling my dog's paws. I've never admitted it to anyone before now.

I won't tell anyone! :)

Yep, I sure love smelling ol' Birdie's paws. She's my lil girl.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50