Look What Santa Brought Me! steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dogs6 years ago

AD61BF2F-46D8-4FC9-ABAA-8F456A1BE50D.jpeg

My initial plan was to get the pups groomed on Thursday but the Solar Panels were being put on the house that day and it was an all day event. I’m glad for that as I went today to scrub the girls up and wash away their stink, and look who was there...Santa!!!

Santa stopped by for a pet adoption that was taking place there so naturally on the way out, I had to snap a picture. Best part about it?!? I know who Santa is!!! It’s one of my customers, Tom!! We call him Match.Tom in the shop as he was featured on a match.com commercial a few years back. Corny...I know but we gotta pass the hours in the day somehow.

Anyway, I first started off with Maya. She’s super easy and chill and let’s me do my thing. She was in and out in 15 minutes. What an angel. Those are words I don’t say often regarding Maya.

6BFE85BD-EA54-4FAB-B0BA-FAECC68DD243.jpeg
A drenched Maya Papaya.

Bindi wasn’t terrible today but she’s a bit more work. She just turned 15 a few weeks back and her hind legs aren’t the strongest so she kinda just sits...making it difficult to clean her fartbox, which needs a good scrubbing. In recent years, she whines and howls a bit when getting a bath. The people that stand around and creepily watch me scrub the pups always get a laugh out of that. Today was the first time I saw her trembling a bit. Almost like she was scared or cold. I’m not sure. It stopped when I was done and was drying her off, but I hated seeing that. It makes me sad watching them age and become a bit more fragile, but I guess it’s better than not having the opportunity to age gracefully.
0A615CB7-58FF-4E4E-9F3C-ADA5731B93E2.jpeg

I forgot to snap one of Bindi getting scrubbed so here she was pacing around while waiting her turn.

It also got me thinking of my boys Tano & Bandit and how I miss them ever so much. It was just 4 months ago that I was here with the girls and Tano. I had no idea it was going to be his last time getting the ol’ scrub down. I broke down once home for a few minutes which I think I needed to do. It’s weirdly been a few weeks since I last had that moment of just shedding the sheer pain of their absence. I usually feel better when I just allow myself to succumb to it and flush it out of my system. It makes me feel more human and not so dead inside to have those moments. I also oddly feel worse when I go a length of time without feeling that dreadful emptiness. When I go some time without these moments, I almost feel a sense of guilt. As if I’m forgetting them or moving on from them. I’m sure it’s completely irrational and unhealthy but I also eat tubes of raw cookie dough so...

Either way, I’m golden right now. I got my girls all clean and they are healthy & happy. The house will linger of wet dog through tomorrow. I got a haircut and my beard trimmed so I no longer look like a serial rapist, but instead more like a kid diddler. I’m about to take a 5 minute shower and head over to get a 50 minute massage before going to pick my wife up at the airport. Her pasty pale ass went to Aruba. She took a trip with her best friend Heather which they do every year. I’m Looking forward to hearing all about it and it’ll be nice to have her back home. I got Poland...she gets Aruba. Dems the breaks.

Enjoy your Saturday folks and if you have a beautiful pet at home...please give em a hug for me. If your pet is ugly...don’t touch them. Yuk...

😜

Blewitt

Sort:  

Looks like the pups enjoyed their picture with Tom, I mean Santa,or just a guy who prefers being Santa rather then doing dating commercials lol. Yea I'am not sure why they shake like that sometimes I just assume they got the chills and so I dry them up, they seem better and happy after. Yea I get those moments sometimes also, it's something people don't really talk about, and for men especially I also been told if your experience those things it means as a man your basically a emotional wreak, but I believe that it's surely part of being human and men should be allowed to have times of emotional significance.

Santa Tom did a great job and I had no idea he was a big animal guy. He earned points in my book and I’ll be tossing him a pack of Heroclix on the house for his commitment to volunteer his time for pups.

Yeah, I just never saw her tremble. I think the weight of the water on her maybe? Her fur is so thick and it absorbs so much. Had to add several pounds to her for those few minutes and with her back hind legs not being strong to begin with, maybe it was putting a bunch of strain? Or she was cold. Or just buggin out. Lol. I dunno.

I’m ok admitting it. My dogs are my kids and mean the absolute world to me. I’m ok with it although I have some people in my life that find it odd...

Santa Tom sounds like a great guy. Ah it was the first time, hmm who knows what it could mean? many different things perhaps, I guess it depends on the situation. No the odd thing is how many don't get attached to their pets or animals it just shows how cold humans can be towards other living creatures. Yea it can be tough these days being a guy @blewitt and to be honest I feel never as modern society been so judgemental towards men and whatever it is their ideals are of "being a man".

Yeah Tom is a solid dude. I asked him on Wednesday when I saw him if it was his costume. He told me no and that he just volunteers for the pet adoptions. Pretty cool though.

Sometimes people look down on a dude for having feelings and showing emotions. I just don’t care though. I feel what I feel. Ya know?

So off for a run in the nearest muddy field now?

Lol. Pretty much. Now that my girl Bindi is 15 and has slowed down a ton, I don’t really have to worry about her anymore in that way. But she used to be an asshole about it. I used to get them groomed professionally. A couple hundred bucks later, the pack is looking smooth and perfect. Until Bindi would gondog outside and get a zillion grains of dirt embedded in her fur. The same or next day!!!! Argh!!!

Oh I miss even the wet husky smell, in all honesty huskies don't smell much compared to other dogs... they're the prettiest dogs, sigh!

I miss my Kira everyday :) her smile... cos you know Huskies smile

You are correct. Huskies are the prettiest...and Malamutes. Simply perfect.

Oh I know that Husky smile all too well. Kira sounded like an amazing and beautiful soul. ❤️

priscillahernandez_kira.jpg

She was the world to me

That's a beautiful pic. Love it. When was this taken?

Oh many years ago sometime around late nineties

Well you both look beautiful. ❤️

I could hardly compete with her, she was absolutely gorgeous and had the noblest heart, in fact she adopted one of my hamsters (not a ratty but a hamster) as a baby, it was fun to watch, the day the hamster day, oh my, that husky howled and cried as if it were its puppy. Yumi, the hamster lived like almost six years which is absolutely unusual for a hamster that tend to live around two, but well she was under the care of a wolf protector.

She lived longer because she was surrounded by pure love. Beautiful.

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

28000...here I come!

I'm so sorry for your loss, @blewitt. I somehow missed that news. How very sad. Our little lovies are so special. They never stay with us long enough!

Your shower pictures are adorable. I take my dog to one that looks exactly like that.

Hugs!

Thank you Jayna. Truly appreciate the kind words. It’s a raw deal...how short a time they are here with us. That’s awesome. You groom them yourself as well?

❤️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you my friends!

great photos sir blewitt!

Thanks bud. The pups make it super easy. 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78